TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-17-2014, 02:10 AM   #1
TheChosenOne-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Can we download Tivo Roamio updates to usb then plug usb into roamio 2 update it?

My Tivo Roamio can't connect to wifi now for some reason and today it said the program schedule info or whatever ran out and it can't record stuff any more, at least the stuff you schedule. I haven't tried to record stuff when I am at home because the only time I need to record things is when I am away. Anyways just curious if I can download all the info/updates to usb then plug in usb to Roamio to update it


Edit: Btw, I just recently got the D Link dir 836L wireless router. I am pretty sure I was disconnected from the wifi or tivo service a month or two ago but I didn't care because I was still able to record stuff but like I said, today was the first time it didn't allow me to record
TheChosenOne- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 05:59 AM   #2
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,836
Nope...
The unit itself needs to check in and download
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 07:17 AM   #3
StevesWeb
Grumpy Old Geek
 
StevesWeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Geek Hill, Corona, CA USA
Posts: 428
If it is feasible for you to do so, I expect your connection problems will go away forever if you can get an Ethernet connection between your router and TiVo.

Ethernet cables are extremely reliable, while WiFi is not.
__________________
Roamio basic OTA w/3TB WD
Roamio basic OTA w/2TB WD
Tivo mini
StevesWeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 10:05 AM   #4
TheChosenOne-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevesWeb View Post
If it is feasible for you to do so, I expect your connection problems will go away forever if you can get an Ethernet connection between your router and TiVo.

Ethernet cables are extremely reliable, while WiFi is not.
That's not possible since my room is on the first floor and the router is on second floor unless I hook them up temporarily to update. So is there a solution to getting it to work again through wifi?
TheChosenOne- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 10:34 AM   #5
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,537
Sounds like you need to re-set up the wifi connection with your new router. What have you done to resolve?

If you cannot get that working, a bridge is another option to try.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:46 PM   #6
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,491
MoCA
__________________
"You don't know Bierboy like I know Bierboy. He became a lot more amusing after I figured out his sense of humor..." -- Rob Helmerichs

XL4
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:55 PM   #7
StevesWeb
Grumpy Old Geek
 
StevesWeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Geek Hill, Corona, CA USA
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheChosenOne- View Post
That's not possible since my room is on the first floor and the router is on second floor unless I hook them up temporarily to update. So is there a solution to getting it to work again through wifi?
The strength of any radio signal drops with distance according to the Inverse Square Law, so if you can reduce the distance between WiFi router and TiVo that might help.

Also, if there are other Wi Fi devices closer to the router that you can get onto Ethernet so your WiFi router is serving fewer clients in the near field that might help, possibly.

If your WiFi router accepts external antennas a larger/better antenna might help.

If you have something in the room where the WiFi is connected to the same coax antenna system as TiVo, then Mocha is the way to go.
__________________
Roamio basic OTA w/3TB WD
Roamio basic OTA w/2TB WD
Tivo mini
StevesWeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 03:36 PM   #8
zalusky
Registered User
 
zalusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 3,800
Sometimes the DHCP on the routers can go south. I would reboot the router first then the Roamio.
__________________
I will never forget the face of my wife as I left to go the operating room to donate my kidney and give her back her life.
zalusky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 05:12 PM   #9
shrike4242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 276
I would also check the router for updated firmware and make sure it's on the most recent firmware, which can help with issues like this.
__________________
Current:
Roamio Pro (x3), Premiere XL4, Mini

Former:
Sony S1, Toshiba RS-TX20 w/DVD burner, Tivo S2, S2 DT, S3, TivoHD, Premiere XL (one dead, one gifted, one w/Lifetime)
shrike4242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 05:14 PM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,352
Which Roamio do you have? The Basic one or the Plus/Pro?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 06:22 AM   #11
TheChosenOne-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Which Roamio do you have? The Basic one or the Plus/Pro?
basic
TheChosenOne- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |