TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2014, 08:26 AM   #1
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 569
Channel problem (v52)

We just moved to a temporary house for 3 months while we are remodeling. We have standard cable (Time Warner) and no cable card.

For some reason we don't get CNBC, which is my wife's favorite channel. I did a channel scan and found an additional 300 or so channels, most of which are blank.

We get the channel right above and below CNBC, but on that channel we get v52 error.

Calling to get a cable card is a complicated process because we are not the people on the account.

Anybody know a listing of alternate channels that we can try or a way around this? I am going to call time warner, but I fear that because it works on their box and not on tivo that I am just going to get grief from them.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 08:54 AM   #2
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 813
It's likely that that channel has been moved to digital only on your TWC system. Since you're using the Premiere (I assume) without CableCard, you're getting the Analog versions of the standard cable channels. These analog versions take up significant bandwidth on the coax, and over the last 5-10 years, TWC has been occasionally moving the lesser-watched standard cable channels to be only digital, thereby freeing up space to add other Digital programming.

As for the channel scan, TWC encrypts everything but the local broadcast networks and a few things like C-Span. The 300+ channels are identified as having an active signal during a channel scan, but without the CableCard, the Tivo can't decode the encryption and display them.

Unfortunately, there's no way to get that channel without a CableCard or a TWC box.
tatergator1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 09:27 AM   #3
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 569
According to the guide, 71 is CNBC (SD) and I can get it with their box, so it has not been moved.

If you look at their standard channel list, it is shown there as well.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 09:38 AM   #4
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin Bike View Post
According to the guide, 71 is CNBC (SD) and I can get it with their box, so it has not been moved.

If you look at their standard channel list, it is shown there as well.
What region are you in? In my TWC region, channels 73, 74, and 76 are digital only. TWC provides a PDF of the channel lineup that is color coded with notes that will identify channels in the Analog range which are actually digital only.

I could be wrong, but it's most likely digital only, even though is has a channel number in the analog range.
tatergator1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 07:13 PM   #5
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 569
We are in Austin. According to this: http://www.timewarnercable.com/texas...true&cluid=231 channel 71 is part of the standard package. Just like 70 and 72.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 07:44 PM   #6
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin Bike View Post
We are in Austin. According to this: http://www.timewarnercable.com/texas...true&cluid=231 channel 71 is part of the standard package. Just like 70 and 72.
If you look at PDF there is a little up arrow to the right of that channel, and the key for that symbol is:
Quote:
Digital Standard Channels — Digital set-top box or CableCARD-equipped Unidirectional Digital Cable Product (UDCP) will be required.
So, it's digital => cablecard needed
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 07:56 PM   #7
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 569
Thanks! your eyesight is better than mine.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 01:51 AM   #8
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 629
Something still does not add up. Channel 70 and 72 also have that symbol next to them, but decodes fine.

I would tune to 70 and 72 on the Tivo and check the Diagnostics screen. That will tell you how you're decoding them.
__________________
Premiere 2 tuner & SiliconDust
on Comcast-CableCard + OTA
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 07:15 PM   #9
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 569
A cable card and tuning adapter fixed the problem. But that also included a 3.5 hour install after they did not provision the account properly when I picked up the "self install" kit. Nothing is worse than hearing a tech say "well I've never worked on a Tivo before, I guess this is as good a time as any to learn." At least he stuck through it all.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:26 AM   #10
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 629
Ignorance translates to determination, since they're under the misconception that it is suppose to work.

There's a couple of online brokers that offer streaming CNBC, btw. I'm starting to prefer Bloomberg TV myself.

Congrats in any case.
__________________
Premiere 2 tuner & SiliconDust
on Comcast-CableCard + OTA
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 05:23 PM   #11
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 569
Well it's all working, and this is only a rental house for a few months, so we should be OK for now. TWC also has an ipad app and we can watch it there in a pinch.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |