TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 06-10-2014, 08:50 AM   #1
Jeca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Can I have a Roamio hooked up to wireless and a Tivo Mini hooked up to moca?

Hooked up my new Roamio (it's the basic one) just fine to wireless (Cox cable & internet) and it is working great. Now I'd like to hook up a tivo mini. While I realize that the mini needs an ethernet connection, can I create a moca connection and have it work with the wireless Roamio?

I'm not tech savvy as most of you are on these forums. The way I grasp the moca connection is that I have a splitter that splits the cable between internet and TV. The internet cable would be attached to an adapter which in turn would be used to the internet connection to the mini? Do I have it right?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Last edited by Jeca : 06-10-2014 at 11:06 AM.
Jeca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 10:28 AM   #2
mcluvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Just went through this myself. Not sure if you have a basic, but the the Roamio Plus and Pro will not bridge wireless to moca. That said, I've got my Romio ethernet port connected to a wireless AC bridge, and it will bridge that connection to Moca. I have 2 Minis connected so far, one to another wireless bridge, the other via Moca. So far they've worked every time I've tried to use them and the family isn't complaining. I'm even pushing HD movies to the Roamio and streaming to the Mini without issue.
mcluvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 02:11 PM   #3
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,393
Wireless streaming is very "your mileage may vary." You could try it. It might work, or it might get a lot of buffering or not work at all.

If the latter, the Roamio will have to be wired in some way too. If not ethernet, then a couple of moca adapters will be necessary for the basic Roamio.

The Mini has moca built-in so if you do create a moca network and have coax at the Mini's location already, it won't need ethernet.

The below picture shows how a moca network is created by connecting a moca adapter to the router/modem. It's not too complicated.



Then if ethernet is not desirable at the Roamio, a second moca adapter can be used to add the Roamio.



Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 06-10-2014 at 02:22 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 10:24 AM   #4
Jeca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Thank you for your help Mcluvin and Big Jim. I'm getting a MoCa kit from Amazon that hopefully will solve the problem.
Jeca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |