TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2014, 05:46 PM   #1
touarts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
New Hard Drive - don't care about old collection

My Tivo Series 3 HD hard drive is failing. I don't care about any of the shows I have saved. Must I install the Tivo software before replacing the drive, or will Tivo download and install it for me? All the threads I have seen relate to preserving recorded shows, but as I said, I just want to start with a clean install.
Thanks for any input.
touarts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 05:51 PM   #2
wtkflhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Metairie, La
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by touarts View Post
My Tivo Series 3 HD hard drive is failing. I don't care about any of the shows I have saved. Must I install the Tivo software before replacing the drive, or will Tivo download and install it for me? All the threads I have seen relate to preserving recorded shows, but as I said, I just want to start with a clean install.
Thanks for any input.
I would suggest that you get an hard drive from Weakknees. They come with the software already on them. That may cost more, but IMHO it's a lot simpler
Don H..
wtkflhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 06:28 PM   #3
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by touarts View Post
My Tivo Series 3 HD hard drive is failing. I don't care about any of the shows I have saved. Must I install the Tivo software before replacing the drive, or will Tivo download and install it for me? All the threads I have seen relate to preserving recorded shows, but as I said, I just want to start with a clean install.
Thanks for any input.
Any TiVo prior to the Roamio requires that the s/w be installed before the drive is put in the TiVo, but it isn't that difficult.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtkflhn View Post
I would suggest that you get an hard drive from Weakknees. They come with the software already on them. That may cost more, but IMHO it's a lot simpler
Don H..
They cost a lot more. It's > than a 100% markup.

If you can't DIY and don't have anyone who can do it for you, dvr_dude has better prices.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 06:30 PM   #4
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by touarts View Post
My Tivo Series 3 HD hard drive is failing. I don't care about any of the shows I have saved. Must I install the Tivo software before replacing the drive, or will Tivo download and install it for me? All the threads I have seen relate to preserving recorded shows, but as I said, I just want to start with a clean install.
Thanks for any input.
Except for the new Roamio line of TiVos you have to install the software yourself if you replace the drive. It's actually pretty easy if you have any computer smarts.

The tools (MFSLive or WinMFS) are free and so are the necessary software images. Check out the Upgrade forum for more details.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 08:46 PM   #5
touarts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Thank you! I already have a 500Gig drive cleared out for this purpose, so I will proceed with MFSLive or WinMFS.
touarts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 08:57 PM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by touarts View Post
Thank you! I already have a 500Gig drive cleared out for this purpose, so I will proceed with MFSLive or WinMFS.
If the old drive isn't too far gone yet you might be able to do a backup with either of those and restore the backup to the new drive.

Won't save shows but will save settings, saving you having to go through Guided Setup again.

You might even be able to actually copy the drive to the new one before it finishes failing.


If not,


For use with the MFS Live cd v1.4:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/49887720/652m.bak


For use with WinMFS:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/49887720/652m.tbk

With either, restore but do not expand*, then check the drive with

mfsinfo

then expand in a separate step with

mfsadd


*With MFS Live, this means do not use the

-x

option in the command string.
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |