TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2014, 04:07 PM   #1
dnorth12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 155
Over 3 hours to transfer 30 minute program

And I really don't know how much longer than 3 hours as I couldn't stay awake any longer. Wireless room to room transfer was so much faster between my old Series 2 and 3. Now that I have two Premiers it is just like molasses, watching grass grow, etc. I am overjoyed.

And no I do not have all the new connectivity setup that I probably should. Just using the little wireless G flip open thingy ma bobs.
dnorth12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:09 PM   #2
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 299
I have 2 tivo premier xl2 and i last night i transferd 3 30 minute shows in less than 15 minutes but i dont use the G adapter i use a cisco powerline adapter on verizon fios .You may have to try something different than that G adapter.
celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 08:44 PM   #3
bparker
Registered User
 
bparker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 29
You may be getting lots of conflicts, so it's retrying and retrying. Try switching channels on your wireless and reconnecting.
bparker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 06:12 PM   #4
eric102
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 108
Throw the wireless crap in the garbage and make a wired connection, either Ethernet or MOCA. A 30 minute program should take less than 5 minutes to transfer between 2 premiers.
eric102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 08:07 PM   #5
dnorth12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 155
I decided to try to upgrade my connection speed.

First step was to buy 2 wireless N adapters to replace the G's. (mistake, maybe not - read further)

OK so the N's didn't do anything for me. Have Comcast 2.4 wireless modem/router. Speed is limited by it.

Flashbulb!! I have the moca adapter that came with the Premier. Never looked at it or considered it. So I hook it up along with the point of entry filter that was also included with the moca and viola, I can't get the second Premier to connect via moca on the N or the G adapter. Probably to many splitters in the system.

That was yesterday.

Today another flashbulb. I have a Time Capsule that has a dual band airport. Turn it on and connect one of the N's to it and b-bam. I am now transferring video faster than I can watch it and it is plenty fast for me.

So I now have two wireless networks working. The 2.4 dedicated to everything not TiVo. And of course the faster band to the TiVo.

I feel like an idiot and a genius at the same time, but I accomplished what I needed to.
dnorth12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 08:14 PM   #6
eric102
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 108
Congrats! As long as it transfers faster than you can watch it doesn't matter how it got there.
eric102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |