TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2014, 12:58 PM   #1
Slider10
TiVo Minion
 
Slider10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 430
Green Screen after harddrive upgrade

My TiVo HD was stuck in a reboot loop last week on the WD 1TB drive I installed five years ago. So I purchased a new WD20EURX 2TB drive. I only have Macs and 1 SATA drive enclosure. Today I backed up the 1tb drive with WinMFS to a file and then put my new drive into the enclosure. I restored from the backup and said "yes" when asked to expand the drive's space.

I put it into my TiVo and now I'm at the green "severe issue" screen. I don't remember getting this last time, but that was 5-years ago. I'm curious if there was an issue on the 1TB drive and because this was a restore from that, something needs to be corrected by the TiVo itself. Anyhow, if anyone can assist in any way, please do.

Here's my setup for reference:

TiVo HD
WD20EURX drive that I bought last week
I did not test intellipark because everything I've read says WD doesn't ship with that on anymore. Also, I couldn't get the tests to work in my setup.
New core i7 iMac running Mavericks
VMware with a Windows 7 install
WinMFS was used to back up the 1TB drive and then restore that to the new 2TB drive
I have the original TiVo drive available if needed, along with its image
__________________
TiVolution Member: TiVo HD (with 2TB upgrade: 146 HD hrs!!). Retired: 140-hr Series2, 40-hr S2.
My other toys: '81 DeLorean, iPhone 5s Pebble Watch, 27" iMac
Slider10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:33 PM   #2
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 749
You're probably going to have to redo it and say 'no' the next time around when asked to expand the drive's space. You have to finish the restore process, select the new drive in WinMFS, and then run mfsadd separately. When it does it at the end of a restore, it doesn't work properly.

Are you trying to get your shows onto the new 2 tb drive?
squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:35 PM   #3
Slider10
TiVo Minion
 
Slider10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 430
Update: Tried this and the TiVo booted up fine, but then rebooted less than a minute later. Came up with the green screen once more.

I would've preferred to save my recordings but I can live without them. I'm surprised the expand option at the end of the restore could cause problems but that's something to try.
__________________
TiVolution Member: TiVo HD (with 2TB upgrade: 146 HD hrs!!). Retired: 140-hr Series2, 40-hr S2.
My other toys: '81 DeLorean, iPhone 5s Pebble Watch, 27" iMac

Last edited by Slider10 : 08-16-2014 at 02:10 PM.
Slider10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 08:45 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slider10 View Post
I did not test intellipark because everything I've read says WD doesn't ship with that on anymore. Also, I couldn't get the tests to work in my setup.
You won't be able to set/check the intellipark unless you boot up on a computer "Raw" (no windows or MacOS) and use WDIdle3.exe or boot up on the Ultimate Boot Disk CD.

Have you checked the power supply for bad capacitors?
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 08:57 PM   #5
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 749
Maybe WinMFS doesn't work well running in a VM on a Mac. Or the new drive is defective. One of the two times I've gotten the green screen was due to a bad drive.
squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 12:34 AM   #6
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by squint View Post
Maybe WinMFS doesn't work well running in a VM on a Mac. Or the new drive is defective. One of the two times I've gotten the green screen was due to a bad drive.
On an upgrade hard drive for pre Roamios there were times I got the green screen, I just let the unit cook overnight and in the morning all was working great. Never had any problem with that TiVo again.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 09:03 PM   #7
Slider10
TiVo Minion
 
Slider10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 430
Thanks for all the help, guys. The issue was the image I was using to restore. I was using my previous dying drive to restore onto the new one. I guess that image was corrupt. I restored from the factory drive and expanded with mfsadd and it worked great. 2TB showing as available and all reboots are gone. Thanks everyone!!
__________________
TiVolution Member: TiVo HD (with 2TB upgrade: 146 HD hrs!!). Retired: 140-hr Series2, 40-hr S2.
My other toys: '81 DeLorean, iPhone 5s Pebble Watch, 27" iMac
Slider10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 09:06 PM   #8
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 749
In that case, your original HDD might be physically OK and can be reused for some other purpose.
squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 09:34 PM   #9
Slider10
TiVo Minion
 
Slider10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 430
I agree, but I keep the factory drive set aside just in case I'll need it in the future. Yesterday that situation happened.
__________________
TiVolution Member: TiVo HD (with 2TB upgrade: 146 HD hrs!!). Retired: 140-hr Series2, 40-hr S2.
My other toys: '81 DeLorean, iPhone 5s Pebble Watch, 27" iMac
Slider10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |