TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-26-2014, 08:44 AM   #1
sblake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Questions about installing A/V Breakout cable

Hi All,

Been reading all the info about Tivo, and just purchased the Roamio Plus, and two mini's.The help that Ive seen for others on here, has been outstanding. So far, we are really enjoying it. I do have a question-

One of the Mini's is being connected to a HDTV that does not have HDMI. I had to order the breakout cable from Tivo. The green, blue, and red outputs from the TV, gets connected to the breakout cable, and then to the component jack on the mini? Do I need to hook the red/white cables into the A/V jack as well?

Sorry if this a real basic question, but Im not that tech savvy.

Thanks
sblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:43 AM   #2
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 728
Yes, the RGB cable only carries video. You'll need the Red/White connected as well for audio.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:12 AM   #3
sblake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Yes, the RGB cable only carries video. You'll need the Red/White connected as well for audio.

Thanks for your response.

It's supposed to arrive today. I checked with Tivo support last night, and they told me I don't have to use both. I was surprised when he told me this

Is there anyone who has the same setup as myself, that has used the Tivo a/v breakout cables?

Last edited by sblake : 02-26-2014 at 10:33 AM.
sblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 03:00 PM   #4
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by sblake View Post
Thanks for your response.

It's supposed to arrive today. I checked with Tivo support last night, and they told me I don't have to use both. I was surprised when he told me this

Is there anyone who has the same setup as myself, that has used the Tivo a/v breakout cables?
If you are using only composite you don't need both cables, if you are using component RGB than you need the other cable to get audio RW and yellow than is not used. I have set this type of system up for a friend.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:09 AM   #5
sblake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks for the help. Using the A/V breakout cables worked well. We are now a Tivo family!
sblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |