TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-16-2014, 09:35 PM   #1
VBHS1999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
WD DVR Expander on Roamio

I have been using a Western Digital My Book AV DVR Expander on my Tivo Premier XL and TiVo Premier.

Today, I purchased a new TiVo Roamio Pro. Software ver 20.4.4a.
When I go to setup the external storage, it tells me it is not supported.
As I mentioned, this drive was working fine on another TiVo. I still have the Premier running with another of the exact model of this drive.

The expander drive I have is: WDBABT0010HBK-NESN
http://www.amazon.com/Book-Expander-.../dp/B003MVZ60S

I called TiVo today and they said the drive I have is not supported. Funny, the box says it is TiVo compatible and it is the same one they are selling on their website.

The person I talked to said there was nothing they could do to make it work. They took my info and said they would replay the message to a department named AES (I think).

This model is the same one from Best Buy and Amazon.

Can anyone help me figure out why this is not working?
And, why would it and the other TiVo I have work fine with this, just not the Roamio?

Thanks,
Kevin
VBHS1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 09:43 PM   #2
fred2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 473
Edited my original guess - it was wrong! Seems the problem was solved.

Last edited by fred2 : 11-18-2014 at 09:08 AM.
fred2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 10:08 PM   #3
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,080
With 3TB of storage I never even considered adding external storage. I didn't think it could be done.

The instructions here says it can. Did you follow these?

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/280
waynomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 07:24 AM   #4
VBHS1999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
So, let my TiVo sit , then tried again after a few hours.
Then it magically worked.

My TiVo has a 3 TB internal drive and a 1 TB external. Total 4 TB.

I have seen on the Internet a website selling TiVos with a 4 TB internal and a 4 TB external, for a total of 8 TB! Pretty cool, but I don't want to open my TiVo and void the warranty, since I have 4 years of coverage through where I bought it for hardware failures.
VBHS1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 09:04 AM   #5
rsnaider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,637
I had to reboot mine to have it detect the Expander, but as you see it does work.
__________________
Ron

TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Pro - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier XL
TiVo Mini
rsnaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 07:50 AM   #6
abovethesink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 92
I have that expander on a basic and it definitely works.
abovethesink is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |