TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2014, 12:48 PM   #1
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Tivo under contract replaced with another?

If you have a Tivo under a service contract, can you exchange it for a similer or different model?

For example I have a 2 tuner Premiere with a few months remaining in a 2 year contract, if I buy a used 4 tuner Premiere or Roamio, will Tivo let me change the upgraded model to finish up the term of the service commitment? Key being the newer Tivo will used not new, I understand a new unsubscribed Tivo requires a new commitment or lifetime service?

Since I'm tied into the commitment, I figure I might as well use the full capacity with a Tivo with more tuners if all possible since I'm paying a monthly fee for it and the cable card. Once it's contract is done, it will be replaced with a mini.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 03:10 PM   #2
Grakthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 717
I doubt it, but you can always try.
Grakthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 03:41 PM   #3
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
OK, but perhaps I'm looking at it wrong but as long as continue to pay the amount that I owe monthly for the term of the contract, what difference does it make what equipment I use?

What if my Tivo under contract dies? Do I just continue to pay without having that Tivo? I don't see why it can't be replaced, even with a series 2 if I wanted.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 04:14 PM   #4
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 948
It boils down to the fact that all Tivo hardware is sold at a loss in terms of retail price. The monthly/yearly sub (or lifetime) is in place for the guide/software updates, but also to subsidize the cost of the Tivo hardware. They lock you into a subscription for that particular box to re-coup what they initially lost when you bought the hardware at an artificially low price.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 05:00 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,654
I think they will allow you to do that as long as you purchase the TiVo from somewhere other then from them. It's like replacing a cell phone under contract, they'll let you do it but only if you pay full price for the new phone.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 07:58 PM   #6
chicagobrownblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,639
TiVo had a deal that ended 1/31/14 for existing, possibly 3+ year long term customers, that if you bought a Roamio from TiVo you could transfer your subscription over. You might want to just call up TiVo and ask.

No great deals on Roamios for awhile. I suspect they may come back after the Oscars this Sunday night. It may pay to wait a bit.
chicagobrownblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 08:13 PM   #7
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicagobrownblue View Post
TiVo had a deal that ended 1/31/14 for existing, possibly 3+ year long term customers, that if you bought a Roamio from TiVo you could transfer your subscription over. You might want to just call up TiVo and ask.

No great deals on Roamios for awhile. I suspect they may come back after the Oscars this Sunday night. It may pay to wait a bit.
I got in on that, replaced my HD with a Roamio with $6.95 monthly with no contract.

What I want to now is replace my 2 tuner Premiere with a 4 tuner Premiere; it's under contract and just want a Premiere I can fully utilize with extra tuners esp with it having MoCA . 4 tuner non-lifetime Premieres are rather cheap on eBay since everyone appears to upgrading to Roamios.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 08:45 PM   #8
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,654
FYI they have a "change service number" link in the My Account section on their website where you can swap in a new TiVo for an old one. I used it to swap an old $6.95/mo plan over to a TiVo HD a couple years ago. I'm not sure how/if it's restricted if the TiVo is still under contract but it might be worth trying if you can get a 4 tuner cheap enough.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |