TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-18-2014, 09:24 AM   #1
hacklert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
TV Tuner Question

I live in central florida using brighthouse networks as my tv provider. I have a roamio plus with a card and tuner attached. I get all the first 100 channels
perfectly but most the channels about 100 tell me I'm not authorized for
that channel. I get a few local HD channels but thats about it. I just picked up the tuner add-on about two days ago from the cable company. I didn't know I needed one until then. Is there anything special I need to do after I hook it up to get it to work? I'm not even sure what channels the tuner is expected to pick up. I just know that I'm getting very few channels about 100. Its like I'm only getting the basic channels from brighthouse. I don't have any other cable boxes in my house. Do they only give out the basic channels if you don't rent one of their boxes? Trying to figure this out so I can get the other HD channels that are not tuning in on my roamio. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I have not called the cable company yet because I'm not sure what to ask them.
hacklert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 10:04 AM   #2
moonscape
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 377
I can't speak to the tuning adapter since my provider Comcast doesn't use switched video, but ... it sounds as if the cable card isn't paired properly. I'd call Brighthouse tech support and try to get someone knowledgeable about cable cards who can pair it again.
moonscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 12:07 PM   #3
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 303
You are using a cablecard right? If you pay for more then basic, it sounds like your cablecard isn't properly paired/activated. You are likely seeing the channels under 100 because they aren't encrypted, as such the cablecard basically doesn't do anything other then maybe provide a channel map. CC is used for decryption.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 02:44 PM   #4
Tico
Bear Down Cats!!!!!
 
Tico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamNJ View Post
as such the cablecard basically doesn't do anything other then maybe provide a channel map. CC is used for decryption.
Huh?

What it should say:

as such the Tuning Adapter basically doesn't do anything other then make the Tivo capable of two way communication so switched digital channels will work, . Cable card is used for decryption.
__________________
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 9/27/2010 (Bad Cap PS replaced 12/12)
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 5/14/12
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 11/26/12
Series3 OLED STA1520 TA Activated 9/21/06
Tico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 02:45 PM   #5
Tico
Bear Down Cats!!!!!
 
Tico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 286
Not Authorized is a Pairing/Activation issue.

Channel not available would be a tuning adapter issue.
__________________
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 9/27/2010 (Bad Cap PS replaced 12/12)
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 5/14/12
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 11/26/12
Series3 OLED STA1520 TA Activated 9/21/06
Tico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 05:21 PM   #6
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 870
I agree with the above comments. It sounds like your CableCard is not paired. Try to find a CableCard hotline for your cable company and call it. They should be able to go through the pairing process with you over the phone if you manage to get someone that actually knows what they are doing.

Last edited by tarheelblue32 : 02-18-2014 at 05:26 PM.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 05:30 PM   #7
shrike4242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 268
It may be paired though the channel map may be set up incorrectly for the card.

I've run into issues with my Tivos where some channels would work and others wouldn't work, though the CableCard is showing that it's paired.

They should double-check the channel map and make sure it's applied correctly to the CC. If not, then un-pair it and re-pair it.
__________________
Current:
Roamio Pro (x2), Premiere XL4, Premiere XL, Mini

Former:
Sony S1, Toshiba RS-TX20 w/DVD burner, Tivo S2, S2 DT, S3, TivoHD, Premiere XL
shrike4242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 07:29 PM   #8
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tico View Post
Not Authorized is a Pairing/Activation issue.

Channel not available would be a tuning adapter issue.
hence why i said

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamNJ View Post
as such the cablecard basically doesn't do anything other then maybe provide a channel map. CC is used for decryption.
that is now how CC are normally supposed to function, but this guy's isn't authorized.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |