TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 02-10-2014, 09:00 AM   #1
Lyrical1

Is AT&T an exempt cable company?

Over the years I have learned a great deal of useful information here. As a newb, I remember getting great advice on everything from how use the finer points in programing season passes to how to use a multiswitch for DTV. Thank you to all who’ve helped.

One of the things I learned on the TiVo Community Forum is that cable companies are required to offer cablecards for TiVos and other devices. So, here’s my newest question: Why is AT&T exempt from this regulation?

I now live in an area whose television is served by Comcast and AT&T. I have had a Comcast cablecard for years, although I get a huge amount of marketing material from AT&T who want me to switch to their U-verse service. When I call AT&T and ask about cablecards they give me evasive answers. Either they “don’t know what a cablecard is.” Or, they may “offer them in the future.”

Is AT&T not a cable service? Are they not regulated by the same organization (FCC?) that regulates Comcast, Time-Warner Cable, Cox, et al?
Lyrical1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 09:14 AM   #2
LoadStar
LOAD"*",8,1

AT&T is not a cable service. They deliver their TV programming via IP over their DSL network, and therefore they would be categorized as an information service.

Because they do not use any traditional "cable TV" technology, CableCards are wholly incompatible with their service.
LoadStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 09:35 AM   #3
JosephB

It's the same reason satellite TV companies are exempt, and it's why the AllVid initiative exists. They don't use cable TV technology so they are exempt. AllVid wants to require all MVPDs to adhere to a cablecard-style requirement.