TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2014, 07:06 PM   #1
mike386
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
S3 Power Supply

Can I connect the power supply from a Tivo HD to a original Series 3 (model with time display on front)? I want to test the power supply in the S3 to see if that is why it is stuck on the powering up screen, but the closest model I have is a Tivo HD.
mike386 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 04:29 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike386 View Post
Can I connect the power supply from a Tivo HD to a original Series 3 (model with time display on front)? I want to test the power supply in the S3 to see if that is why it is stuck on the powering up screen, but the closest model I have is a Tivo HD.
That's not the best way to do it (best way is with voltmeter or oscilloscope), but yes, the pinout for the motherboard plug is the same except for the white or gray wire on the TCD648250 supply.

That wire, at, as I recall, +7.5 V, is for the OLED display and therefore not necessary on the 652/658 motherboards.

If you connect a 648 supply with that extra wire to a 652 or 658 motherboard, I do not know if it will come into contact with anything or not, and therefore you should not do that, due to the possibility of burning things our and starting fires.

However, temporarily, for test purposes only, you can run the 648 motherboard with either model of the 652/658 power supply.

In addition to the #10 Torx bit silver-colored screws holding the power supply circuit board down to the chassis stand-offs, there is a number #8 or #9 Torx screw which is smaller around, longer, and darker, and it screws in from the outside into the plastic at the top of the AC power cord jack.

When you install the test supply, use all the screws you took out of that TiVo which will be under test to secure it to the chassis and back panel--no short-cuts, no "Oh, 3 or 4 will be enough for right now".

And remember the number 1 rule:

ALWAYS KNOW WHERE BOTH ENDS OF THE TIVO POWER CORD ARE AT ALL TIMES!
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |