TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Suggestion Avenue
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2014, 09:52 AM   #1
marklyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 422
Default channel tuning

I'd be really interested in seeing a default set of channels that either upon reboot your Tivo tunes into or that the user can set to tune to on a daily basis.
Most would see this as frivolous but here is why I'd like it.
If I could tell Tivo on a daily basis to tune to all of my local channels then when I get home around 5:15 if no tuner was required for recording, then I could switch to a local channel and still have 30 minutes of the news.

I notice that when I reboot, all tuners become set to one channel (not sure if this was the last channel I viewed, etc.). It'd be nice to have a set of channels to auto tune to (if not in use) for a reboot.
__________________
- - - - - - - -
Roamio Plus (3Tb)
Mini - Guest BD & Master BD
MOCA
CC: Sci Atl PK802
TA: Cisco STA1520
TimeWarner Cable-Austin
marklyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 03:07 PM   #2
9300170
Registered User
 
9300170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Enfield, CT
Posts: 174
I know it's not an answer to your question, but why not record the news? That's what we do in our household.
9300170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 08:48 PM   #3
marklyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9300170 View Post
I know it's not an answer to your question, but why not record the news? That's what we do in our household.
I like to flip between the different local news/weather stations.
__________________
- - - - - - - -
Roamio Plus (3Tb)
Mini - Guest BD & Master BD
MOCA
CC: Sci Atl PK802
TA: Cisco STA1520
TimeWarner Cable-Austin
marklyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 10:28 PM   #4
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,273
Set up multiple manual recordings on the separate channels you want starting at 4:45pm for however long you want. You have a multi-tuner TiVo so you could have all four tuners recording four different channels. Put the manual recordings low in your Season Pass Manager so they don't interfere with other SPs.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 10:57 PM   #5
marklyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Set up multiple manual recordings on the separate channels you want starting at 4:45pm for however long you want. You have a multi-tuner TiVo so you could have all four tuners recording four different channels. Put the manual recordings low in your Season Pass Manager so they don't interfere with other SPs.
Yes, I know I can do all of these thing but I feel it would be impractical to set recordings up for 5 local channels for the 6 pm news and/or the 10pm news, etc.
I thought it was a reasonable suggestion to program the software for the Tivo to default to a given set of channels when the tuners are idle for a certain period of time.
__________________
- - - - - - - -
Roamio Plus (3Tb)
Mini - Guest BD & Master BD
MOCA
CC: Sci Atl PK802
TA: Cisco STA1520
TimeWarner Cable-Austin
marklyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 05:24 PM   #6
ubstudent7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
I have to agree with the OP. This would be a simple feature add. There are channels that I commonly watch and when I turn on my TV my preference would be that those are the ones buffered rather than some random channel. It's an easy add, so why not?
ubstudent7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 06:52 PM   #7
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubstudent7 View Post
I have to agree with the OP. This would be a simple feature add. There are channels that I commonly watch and when I turn on my TV my preference would be that those are the ones buffered rather than some random channel. It's an easy add, so why not?
Apparently everything is an easy add. At least if you believe some of the folks posting suggestions here.
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 07:25 PM   #8
marklyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyTango View Post
Apparently everything is an easy add. At least if you believe some of the folks posting suggestions here.
I think it'd be a fair assumption to say that if the programming change is an easy one, that perhaps, more consideration could be given. At least on the outside looking in, I'd think it would be easy but who knows what's under the hood.
__________________
- - - - - - - -
Roamio Plus (3Tb)
Mini - Guest BD & Master BD
MOCA
CC: Sci Atl PK802
TA: Cisco STA1520
TimeWarner Cable-Austin
marklyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 07:32 PM   #9
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,273
So how would this work with Suggestions enabled? What do you consider an idle tuner?

I don't think it's any more impractical for TiVo to implement a feature like this (that isn't really something a lot of people would use, IMHO) than for you to just schedule the manual recordings at the times you want to ensure the tuners are on the channels you want to see when you get up or get home from work.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |