TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2014, 09:01 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 195
Cmos battery?

The premiere is getting to be I think 5+ years old. I know the unit uses a cmos battery that is easily replaceable, however when the battery falls and is replaced what gets lost?

Thanks, TL

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

Time_Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 05:45 PM   #2
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 426
I think all the battery does is keep the on-board clock running while the unit is unplugged. All other settings are auto-detected or stored on the hard drive.

Even if the battery does fail, all you should need to do is make a connection to TiVo (testing the connection should work just as well) and it'll set the clock to the correct time like it usually does.

Sony SVR-2000 (S1) @ 160GB (retired)
TiVo TCD648250B (S3, Lifetime) @ 1TB (thanks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVo HD XL (S3, Lifetime) @ 1TB - CableCARD/TA
TiVo Premiere XL4/Elite (S4, Lifetime) @ 2TB - CableCARD/TA
Krellion is online now   Reply With Quote
Forum Jump

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.
Page generated in 0.11058211 seconds (44.71% PHP - 55.29% MySQL) with 18 queries