TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-02-2014, 02:00 PM   #1
kucharsk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Can you directly swap a hard drive between Roamios?

I installed a 3 TB drive in my brand new Roamio before finding it had a hardware issue (both the red and blue circles light up every time I record.)

When the replacement unit arrives, if I just swap the drive into the new unit, will my programs, season passes, etc. be retained, or do I need to start from zero again?

Really, the only thing changing will be the unit ID, but I'm asking whether the programs/settings are somehow associated in a way that would confuse the new unit.
kucharsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 02:40 PM   #2
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
I installed a 3 TB drive in my brand new Roamio before finding it had a hardware issue (both the red and blue circles light up every time I record.)

When the replacement unit arrives, if I just swap the drive into the new unit, will my programs, season passes, etc. be retained, or do I need to start from zero again?

Really, the only thing changing will be the unit ID, but I'm asking whether the programs/settings are somehow associated in a way that would confuse the new unit.
Swapping hard drives between units will not preserve settings or recordings. The TiVo Service Number is written to the hard drive when the drive is first formatted. If you boot the drive in another Tivo, it will boot, but will display errors and prevent viewing of any past recordings due to a mis-match of the old TSN with the new TSN if the new box.

Season passes can be saved using the program kmttg. Assuming your cable provider does not use the CCI flag excessively, you could also transfer recordings via kmttg to a conputer , and the back to the new drive.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 08:13 PM   #3
kucharsk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Actually I know I can retrieve the season passes from the TiVo web site.

What do I need to do to the drive before moving it? Anything?
kucharsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |