TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-27-2014, 03:58 PM   #1
Mark McM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 31
Can you copy (or watch) programs from an unsubscribed Premiere?

Hopefully a few quick questions - but first a little context:

I'm getting a Roamio to replace my Premiere. I'll be switching my current service plan over to the Roamio, and unsubscribing the Premiere. However, I have a lot of as-yet unwatched programs on the Premiere that I'd like to transfer to the Roamio.

So the question is: Can I copy programs off an unsubscribed Premiere to a subscribed Roamio?

Follow up question: Some of the programs may be copy protected; if they can't be copied to the Roamio, will I still be able to watch them directly from the unsubscribed Premiere?


If necessary, I can take the Premiere off my home network, so it can't 'phone home' and won't know immediately that it has been unsubscribed. If I do that, can I copy programs to the Roamio by connecting the two units directly with an Ethernet cable? (And does it need to be a cross-over cable?)

Thanks for any advice anyone can give me!
Mark McM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:06 PM   #2
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,625
An unsubscribed Tivo can not transfer via network, what's on it stays there.
You can watch anything on the unsubscribed Tivo itself, no matter what the subscription status it.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:54 PM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,616
You should be able to get $99 lifetime on the Premiere when you call to move the sub to a new Tivo, unless its already lifetime. Selling it with lifetime will be worth more than without.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!

Last edited by ThAbtO : 01-27-2014 at 05:25 PM.
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 05:16 PM   #4
Mark McM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
An unsubscribed Tivo can not transfer via network, what's on it stays there.
You can watch anything on the unsubscribed Tivo itself, no matter what the subscription status it.
Thanks or the quick answers! But what about if I take the old Tivo off the network before I move the service to the new Tivo - how long will it be before the old Tivo realizes it's no longer subscribed? If I were to do that, in order to transfer programs off the old Tivo I'd have to connect the two Tivos to each other directly, not through the network - can that be done as simply as connecting them with an Ethernet cable?
Mark McM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 01:36 AM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,474
That wont work. They both have to call in at least once after the new one is activated so that they are aware of each other. So there has to be at least some overlap in the service.

TiVo should really allow a grace period on these things so that people have time to copy their shows and SPs to the new unit.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 06:05 AM   #6
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark McM View Post
But what about if I take the old Tivo off the network before I move the service to the new Tivo - how long will it be before the old Tivo realizes it's no longer subscribed? If I were to do that, in order to transfer programs off the old Tivo I'd have to connect the two Tivos to each other directly, not through the network - can that be done as simply as connecting them with an Ethernet cable?
IF you are able to do this (I am not saying you will be able to), you can connect the two Tivos directly with an Ethernet cable, and it does NOT have to be a crossover.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 08:55 AM   #7
kinggabbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
IF you are able to do this (I am not saying you will be able to), you can connect the two Tivos directly with an Ethernet cable, and it does NOT have to be a crossover.
Are you kidding me???? LOL I just spent a week transferring shows from my TivoHD to Roamio with one hard wired to router and the other wireless. With dismal transfer rates.

This would've sped the rates up considerably!!! Grrrr! Oh well, good to know that info anyway.
kinggabbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 09:43 AM   #8
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,377
THDs have v-e-r-y slow transfers based upon their hardware. I'm not sure how much speed you would have gained unless you have a extremely slow wireless connection.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 09:43 PM   #9
timlmd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
After you've transferred service over to the Roamio, you can add a new (no commitment) monthly service to the Premiere. Since the new service comes with a 30 day refund policy, as long as you finish transferring shows in that timeframe, you can cancel the new service and get your money back.
timlmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 07:20 AM   #10
mpnret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlmd View Post
After you've transferred service over to the Roamio, you can add a new (no commitment) monthly service to the Premiere. Since the new service comes with a 30 day refund policy, as long as you finish transferring shows in that timeframe, you can cancel the new service and get your money back.
My Roamio is being delivered on Tuesday. I purchased it from TiVo with an AP code and transferred service over from my current XL4. I guess I just assumed when I activated the Roamio there would be a short grace period that would allow me to transfer my shows and season passes. Is that not true?
mpnret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 04:48 PM   #11
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpnret View Post
My Roamio is being delivered on Tuesday. I purchased it from TiVo with an AP code and transferred service over from my current XL4. I guess I just assumed when I activated the Roamio there would be a short grace period that would allow me to transfer my shows and season passes. Is that not true?
Not when the old box gets de-activated from Tivo Service. You may be able to get $99 lifetime on it.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 05:22 PM   #12
mpnret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Not when the old box gets de-activated from Tivo Service. You may be able to get $99 lifetime on it.
It's not eligible for $99 lifetime and even if it was I wouldn't do it. I don't plan on keeping it and given the recent price drop it no longer makes sense to do it for resale value. If the XL4 loses it service immediately after I switch service to the Roamio I will just put a monthly on the XL4 to allow time to transfer my shows and cancel for a refund before the 30 days. I still find it hard to believe that TiVo will immediately cancel my XL4 service at the time of the swap. I guess I will find out.
mpnret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 12:17 PM   #13
Mark McM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlmd View Post
After you've transferred service over to the Roamio, you can add a new (no commitment) monthly service to the Premiere. Since the new service comes with a 30 day refund policy, as long as you finish transferring shows in that timeframe, you can cancel the new service and get your money back.
This is what the Tivo CSR suggested when I called to transfer my annual service plan the Roamio. I now have the old Premiere on new monthly service plan, and as long as I cancel it before the 30 day period, the first month's charge will be refunded. It should just take a few days to get the Roamio set up and everything transferred to it from the Premiere, so I'll be cancelling the new service plan when everything is a all settled in a few days.
Mark McM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |