TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2014, 09:58 PM   #1
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,378
NETGEAR WNCE4004-100NAS Dual-Band N900 4-Port Wi-Fi Adapter - $29.99

NETGEAR WNCE4004-100NAS Dual-Band N900 Video and Gaming 4-Port Wi-Fi Adapter
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833122509

$29.99
With Promo Code EMCPWHF45, ends 1/30
http://promotions.newegg.com/NEemail...x-landing.html
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 09:23 AM   #2
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 936
Great deal! I already have one that I bought used on eBay which works great but might pick up a spare.

Scott
__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 02:07 PM   #3
mcf57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: GA
Posts: 109
I am pretty satisfied with my router, but may be interested in this one. Other than the faster wifi , what else does this router maybe offer over others in terms of features?
mcf57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 02:25 PM   #4
LoREvanescence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,826
Hmm, that is a great deal.

I have a Linksys EA2700 Now, which I have had a couple issues with.

Air Play Does not work properly
My wifi printer constantly can not be detected by any device and I can only find it by turning it off, then back on.
When ever I lose power, or turn off he cable modem or router, the cable modem will not see the router and I have to power cycle it constantly before they see each other. (this issue happened with a older linksys router I have as well and both a SA and Motorola Cable Modem).

My thoughts are, would this make air play issue free for me, and fix my printer issue?

Also, since my New iMac is wireless AC, should I just hold off and get a wireless AC router at some point. I have been eying the Airport Extremes with Time Capsule but they are out of my budget for awhile after getting the iMac.
LoREvanescence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 02:46 PM   #5
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcf57 View Post
I am pretty satisfied with my router, but may be interested in this one. Other than the faster wifi , what else does this router maybe offer over others in terms of features?
It is not a router. It wirelessly connects to your router to provide wired devices access to your network.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 02:52 PM   #6
LoREvanescence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainwater View Post
It is not a router. It wirelessly connects to your router to provide wired devices access to your network.
Thanks for the info, didn't know such devices existed. Would have thought this was just a router.
LoREvanescence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 03:50 PM   #7
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainwater View Post
It is not a router. It wirelessly connects to your router to provide wired devices access to your network.
Is not this the same a the TiVo "N" wireless adapter + 3 additional RJ45 ports ?
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 10:56 PM   #8
shrike4242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Is not this the same a the TiVo "N" wireless adapter + 3 additional RJ45 ports ?
It is, with a few differences:

1) It's a 3x3 wireless design, which means it could push 450MBps in a perfect world, though will likely pull higher than the 150Mbps the Tivo adapter could pull in a perfect world.
2) The Tivo adapter only works on a Tivo, this device works on anything.
3) The Tivo adapter is likely only a 2.4GHz product, which doesn't give you the option to use the 5GHz band, which is less congested though has shorter range. The Netgear adapter is dual-band, so works in either 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz.

It's also cheaper, since the Tivo adapter isn't $30 at the moment. The Tivo adapter, since it does work only with a Tivo, would be easier to use because you just do the config on the Tivo. The Netgear wireless bridge needs a bit more work to set it up, which you need to do from a PC.
__________________
Current:
Roamio Pro (x3), Premiere XL4, Mini

Former:
Sony S1, Toshiba RS-TX20 w/DVD burner, Tivo S2, S2 DT, S3, TivoHD, Premiere XL (one dead, one gifted, one w/Lifetime)
shrike4242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 07:24 AM   #9
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
I have all my TiVos connected via standard ethernet jacks so no real need for this personally, but I wonder if this would be a viable option to make a TiVo Mini work wirelessly? Just wondering.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 01:08 PM   #10
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrike4242 View Post
It is, with a few differences:

1) It's a 3x3 wireless design, which means it could push 450MBps in a perfect world, though will likely pull higher than the 150Mbps the Tivo adapter could pull in a perfect world.
2) The Tivo adapter only works on a Tivo, this device works on anything.
3) The Tivo adapter is likely only a 2.4GHz product, which doesn't give you the option to use the 5GHz band, which is less congested though has shorter range. The Netgear adapter is dual-band, so works in either 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz.

It's also cheaper, since the Tivo adapter isn't $30 at the moment. The Tivo adapter, since it does work only with a Tivo, would be easier to use because you just do the config on the Tivo. The Netgear wireless bridge needs a bit more work to set it up, which you need to do from a PC.
The TiVo "N" adapter will use the 5Mhz or the 2.4Mhz, a light on the adapter tells you the band it is on.
This TiVo "N" adapter can be used on any hardware that will use a RJ45 network connection, not just TiVo.
TiVo had an older adapter called the "G" that would work only with a TiVo and the TiVos USB port.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 01:52 PM   #11
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
I have all my TiVos connected via standard ethernet jacks so no real need for this personally, but I wonder if this would be a viable option to make a TiVo Mini work wirelessly? Just wondering.
A lot is going to depend on the router used, the distance, number and type of walls, and competing frequencies.

But, yes, I use one of these on a Mini with an ASUS RT-N66U router, using the 5GHz band, I never have any issues, performs very well, I can barely distinguish the difference between wired and wireless.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |