TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2014, 02:26 PM   #1
PHeadland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 37
What should we do with our old TiVo HD?

We switched to a Roamio Pro last year. We have been paying for annual service on our old TiVo HD, and that is due for renewal in March. Since an HD without lifetime is not worth the effort of selling, I called Tivo to cancel service. TiVo offered us the $99 lifetime service deal so we could sell the HD, but I'm really not sure it's worth the effort - it looks like HD's with lifetime don't fetch all that much money on eBay these days. Ours is upgraded with a 2TB drive, so I guess it's maybe worth a bit more, but I am still leaning towards cancelling service and scrapping it. At least if I do that I can use the 2TB drive for something else.

I'd welcome comments/thoughts/suggestions. Just please don't suggest anything that would involve effort or expense on our part, because it simply isn't worth it to us if we will only recover a few $$. IOW, a bunch of work dealing with an eBay sale just to recover $50 is not interesting.
PHeadland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 02:30 PM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,353
I would lifetime and put in the original drive before selling. Don't do it for the $$ if you don't care, do it to keep it out of a landfill and let someone have a tivo for cheap. Or, gift it.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 02:41 PM   #3
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 860
Just throwing it away when it is perfectly good and there are people out there who are willing to pay for it seems incredibly wasteful to me. If you don't want to go through the hassle of an e-bay sale and shipment, then just put it up on Craigslist for free if someone will just come and pick it up.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 02:43 PM   #4
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,190
I would do the $99 lifetime in a heartbeat. It would instantly make what is basically a worthless TiVo HD worth $200+. I also bet you could find a buyer here without even having to resort to dealing with ebay.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 02:48 PM   #5
replaytv
LovesPanda licorice
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,741
Cuz there are so many great people on the forum, get lifetime and then offer it for anyone that will come by and pick it up and give you $200 or so.Then you don't have to ship it and a forum member is rewarded for all the hard work they do helping out other forum members.

If nothing else, change out the drive and use it in your house/garage for 1/2 hour skip antenna TV in a room that doesn't have TV programing service.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 06:18 PM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHeadland View Post
We switched to a Roamio Pro last year. We have been paying for annual service on our old TiVo HD, and that is due for renewal in March. Since an HD without lifetime is not worth the effort of selling, I called Tivo to cancel service. TiVo offered us the $99 lifetime service deal so we could sell the HD, but I'm really not sure it's worth the effort - it looks like HD's with lifetime don't fetch all that much money on eBay these days. Ours is upgraded with a 2TB drive, so I guess it's maybe worth a bit more, but I am still leaning towards cancelling service and scrapping it. At least if I do that I can use the 2TB drive for something else.

I'd welcome comments/thoughts/suggestions. Just please don't suggest anything that would involve effort or expense on our part, because it simply isn't worth it to us if we will only recover a few $$. IOW, a bunch of work dealing with an eBay sale just to recover $50 is not interesting.
Unsubbed it's worth $50, maybe.

Get the lifetime on it and put it on Craigslist for $200.

If it doesn't sell after a week, drop the price a little, and then a little more the week after that if necessary.

It should be gone before it reaches $150.

I just hate the idea of a $99 PLS offer going ungrabbed.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 02:47 PM   #7
shrike4242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 268
Guess I should do the same with the S3 I just took out of service, as well as the HD I retired at the end of 2012, since I'm sure they're all PLS-capable.

Though, if I have 5 Tivos on my account now, would activating both those units with Lifetime service add them onto my account?
shrike4242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 02:50 PM   #8
Rawson819
Registered User
 
Rawson819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Algonquin, IL
Posts: 155
FYI, I just tried to sell an HD on eBay with starting price of $20.00 and $20.00 shipping and got no bidders. I'm going to adjust those numbers and try again.
Rawson819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 06:20 PM   #9
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 4,838
There is still a market for TiVoHD with lifetime, I am planning on buying one soon. No lifetime , I don't think it is worth over $20,, which is what I just paid for a parts machine.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Chris Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 09:30 PM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrike4242 View Post
Guess I should do the same with the S3 I just took out of service, as well as the HD I retired at the end of 2012, since I'm sure they're all PLS-capable.

Though, if I have 5 Tivos on my account now, would activating both those units with Lifetime service add them onto my account?
Probably should have tried on them before taking them out of service, but if you succeed I don't see why they wouldn't be put on your account.

At least until you find a buyer and they set up their own account or transfer it to their already existing account.

The only 5 TiVo limit I know of, other than one's bank account, is that a single TiVo that's paying the full monthly or was lifetimed at full price can only serve as an anchor unit for up to 5 MSD'ed sets.

I forget how many machines I have on my account, but it's more than 5.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 10:35 AM   #11
TVsytem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
I'm interested......maybe

I am looking for an inexpensive way to record high school events in HD using an HD video camera (HDMI or HD/SDI) I need to be able jump back from live recording to 2 - 30 seconds or so, and play back in slo mo or freeze frame stop and start for instruction or analysis. 3 TIVO reps suggested I look here on the forum because they don't have a clue if any of their products can do this or not. I received a great idea yesterday from someone saying a SD box can do it, but I need a (1080i) HD version. Maybe one of these lifetime boxes will work for this? thanks
TVsytem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 11:51 AM   #12
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVsytem View Post
I am looking for an inexpensive way to record high school events in HD using an HD video camera (HDMI or HD/SDI) I need to be able jump back from live recording to 2 - 30 seconds or so, and play back in slo mo or freeze frame stop and start for instruction or analysis. 3 TIVO reps suggested I look here on the forum because they don't have a clue if any of their products can do this or not. I received a great idea yesterday from someone saying a SD box can do it, but I need a (1080i) HD version. Maybe one of these lifetime boxes will work for this? thanks
TiVos newer than the Series 2s have no inputs except for the antenna and cable inputs, unless you count using something like the TiVo Desktop program on a PC to enable a TiVo with a subscription to copy a video from the PC over your home network.

In your case that would mean using an HD camera that can record, then copying that recording to the PC, then copying if from the PC to the TiVo, provided that you copied it to the PC in a file format the TiVo can work with.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 02:26 PM   #13
TVsytem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
series 2

Newer than series 2 means HD?
TVsytem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 12:16 AM   #14
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVsytem View Post
Newer than series 2 means HD?
Yep.

http://www.tivopedia.com/model-tivo-series3.php

http://www.tivopedia.com/model-tivo-tivohd.php

http://www.tivopedia.com/model-tivo-tivohd-xl.php
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 07:05 PM   #15
TVsytem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
thank you

Thanks for the info
TVsytem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |