TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2015, 11:16 AM   #1
Putteringalong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Network set up questions

This is my first post. I don't have my TiVo Roamio Plus and 3 Minis yet, but plan to get it this weekend.

I am switching from DISH to Comcast Xfinity; I already have a Comcast connection for my ramp onto the internet.

While I have both ethernet and coax drops, I think I will try to set up a MoCA network.

I will need to add a splitter where the service comes in with one line going to my existing modem. I understand that I should put a point-of-entry filter to stop MoCA traffic from exiting my house. My question is should this filter be before the modem connection or should I use a 2-way splitter with one line going directly to the modem and the other line have the filter before splitting again to all my TiVo devices?

I've heard that all splitters are not created equally, any suggestions of features that I should look for?

Is it correct that I'll need both ethernet and coax connections to the Pro and only coax to the minis?

Thanks in advance for any insights or suggestions.

Putteringalong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 11:44 AM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,019
If I understand your intended setup correctly, you could put the POE filter on either the input side of the primary splitter (the most common method), or on the output leg that feeds all the TVs. The latter might prevent unlikely interference between the moca and internet. This is ok as long as the Pro is creating the moca network.

Most splitters will work fine but something between 1GHz-1.5GHz is recommended.

Correct, for the Pro to create the moca network, it will need ethernet. The Minis will then work with just coax.


Last edited by BigJimOutlaw; 07-01-2015 at 11:50 AM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 07-03-2015, 04:39 PM   #3
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 561
If you have the Ethernet ports available, I'd recommend getting everything working on your Ethernet network... device activation, software updates, recordings and streaming apps setup ... and then migrating to MoCA as you are able.

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 07-03-2015, 05:00 PM   #4
fcfc2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 185
"I will need to add a splitter where the service comes in with one line going to my existing modem. I understand that I should put a point-of-entry filter to stop MoCA traffic from exiting my house. My question is should this filter be before the modem connection or should I use a 2-way splitter with one line going directly to the modem and the other line have the filter before splitting again to all my TiVo devices?"
Hi, normally you would be instructed to put the filter on the input of the first splitter to enter your home, but in your case, assuming you have a dedicated line to your modem, you could place the filter on the output of the leg that is feeding all of your Tivo devices. You don't mention what your cable modem is, but some have builtin filters to prevent interference from your MoCA devices, by using the modified setup I mentioned this becomes a moot issue and save possibly having to buy a 2nd filter.

fcfc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.
Page generated in 0.04909897 seconds (65.09% PHP - 34.91% MySQL) with 18 queries