TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-23-2014, 10:23 AM   #1
wco81
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 243
Stutter in recordings around the beginning

So because the Tivo clock cuts off shows, I've been routinely adding a minute at the end of each season pass.

But my recordings have this stutter about a minute in (though the indicator bar shows 0 min). The video breaks up and the audio mutes or stutters during this time, which lasts a second at the most.

Could it be the ending of other recordings being reflected in the new recording?

Anyone else padding their recordings and having overlapping recordings?

Like if you record shows that air one after the other?
wco81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:30 AM   #2
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 808
It's a known issue:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=512449
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=512819
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=508756

Tivo is trying to use a single tuner on back to back recordings sharing a channel. Two things are happening, 1) the glitch occurs about 1 minute in 2) This can also cause recordings to be missed completely with the Tivo stating the second show was No Longer in Guide.

TivoMargret has tweeted me back saying it's fixed in the next update (no idea when).

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:35 AM   #3
wco81
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 243
Great to hear, thanks.
wco81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:37 AM   #4
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
Great to hear, thanks.
Can't come soon enough. I get "the look" from my wife each time it happens, usually because you miss part of a joke right at that moment.

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:43 AM   #5
Keen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
TivoMargret has tweeted me back saying it's fixed in the next update (no idea when).
Awesome.
Keen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:44 AM   #6
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keen View Post
Awesome.
We'll see what "fixed" means.

Last time they "fixed" it, they just turned the feature off (the single tuner for back to back recordings). Then it came back in the latest update just as bad as before.

So it will be interesting to see if it's "fixed" or if they just turn it off again.

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:49 AM   #7
Keen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 169
I'll be happy if they just turn off the tuner sharing. At worst, I am only using 5 tuners at once, so I have an extra tuner free to accommodate the overlapping minute.
Keen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:51 AM   #8
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keen View Post
I'll be happy if they just turn off the tuner sharing. At worst, I am only using 5 tuners at once, so I have an extra tuner free to accommodate the overlapping minute.
Definitely.....either get it 100% right, or turn it off.

With it on now, you don't even need to have all tuners being used to have the problem. I think the Tivo defaults to using the same tuner if the next show is overlapped on the same channel.

Very annoying.

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 09:12 PM   #9
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Definitely.....either get it 100% right, or turn it off.
I definitely agree with this part. But I definitely absolutely positively want the feature.. Then I truly have 6 tuners, more than I can IMAGINE using.. (except POSSIBLY during the Olympics? I think they show Olympics on NBC, USA, even Univision, and now probably Comcast Sportsnet... plus wanting shows on a couple of other broadcast channels.. it's THEORETICALLY possible..)

As it is now (without sharing), I *effectively* have half of the tuners, because I have to pad SO MANY shows. Basically all half hour shows, and a significant portion of hour long shows (all Discovery, E!, MTV, Biography, and probably a bunch more I can't remember.)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 07:12 PM   #10
wco81
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 243
This is still happening.

Where is the firmware update that is suppose to address this stutter?
wco81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |