TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2016, 06:37 PM   #1
TivoRocks193
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
TiVo Roamio Prom- HD Upgrade Options?

I'm a little behind on latest development and numerous posts in this forum have last update dates of 2010 or lower so I'll ask fresh...

1) What's the largest "drop in" hard drive I can insert factory-fresh into a Roamio Pro, and have the Roamio Pro format and use the entire drive? I read some Amazon reviews that sounded like the WD80EFZX fit the bill, but I didn't see much discussion here about it. Do I need MFS reformatter to get to 8GBs, or will TiVo software handle it without?

2) Assuming I want to preserve my shows from the built-in 2TB drive to an 8TB on a Windows 10 64bit computer, which software do I use?

Thanks in advance! It should be understood, I want a solution that uses the entire drive and not just a small fraction.


Last edited by TivoRocks193; 07-24-2016 at 06:53 PM.
TivoRocks193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 12:25 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,382
If its just to drop the drive in, 3TB, but the software needs to be up to date.

To 8TB (previously 6TB) limit, drive needs to be started up in the Roamio (indicated in first posts of MFSR).

Unlike in the Series 3, where the limit was 1.2TB, it will use the entire drive space.

A few ways to preserve recordings, transfer to another Tivo or PC beforehand. MFSTools 3.2.

Other than that, Guided Setup needs to be redone, and pairing the cable card.

(note my sig, "4XL" = 4TB.) Used a WD40EFRX NAS drive.

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)
(OTA)

~~~~~

No Amazon Prime? Join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and start streaming!

Last edited by ThAbtO; 07-25-2016 at 12:36 AM.
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 12:41 AM   #3
TivoRocks193
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Is that 8GB for Roamio, Bolt, or both? Anyone try with WD80EFXZ?

TivoRocks193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 12:45 AM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,382
8TB will work for Roamio and Bolt, using MSFR 1.0.0.4.

Use a WD Red drive, or a green (doubt there is one with 8TB). Forget 7200+ RPM drives, creates more heat, uses more power.

The drive in a Bolt is a 2.5" and the 3.5" just barely fits in the Bolt case.

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)
(OTA)

~~~~~

No Amazon Prime? Join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and start streaming!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.
Page generated in 0.11237693 seconds (42.14% PHP - 57.86% MySQL) with 18 queries