TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-03-2014, 09:53 AM   #1
falc122727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 138
TV input button on remote

On my Samsung TVs, the input button scrolls you through a transparent menu and you have to hit a seperate select button to clear the menu. With the Roamio remote, the input button scrolls me through the input options fine, but I can not find any button to clear the menu. It takes over a minute for the menu to finally clear on it's own, and it's annoying. I now have to keep my TV remote next to the TiVo remote, but I would really like to use only one remote.

Any options with the current remote, or is the Slide Pro Remote with more learning buttons an option?

Last edited by falc122727 : 02-03-2014 at 10:45 AM.
falc122727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 03:11 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,372
Don't the Samsung TVs have an option to clear the OSD quicker? I thought there was an option on mine?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 03:46 PM   #3
mhalladay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Arlington, Virginia
Posts: 9
On my Samsung (about 5 years old), I find that pressing volume up (or down) will immediately clear the input selection screen.
mhalladay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 03:48 PM   #4
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhalladay View Post
On my Samsung (about 5 years old), I find that pressing volume up (or down) will immediately clear the input selection screen.
Yep, hitting the volume button works to clear it on my newer Samsung TVs also. I'm guessing this trick probably works on all Samsung TVs.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 05:55 PM   #5
tim1724
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temple City, CA
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhalladay View Post
On my Samsung (about 5 years old), I find that pressing volume up (or down) will immediately clear the input selection screen.
I, too, am in the habit of using the volume button to hide the input menu on my Samsung LCD.
__________________
Happy owner of a TiVo Roamio Pro
tim1724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 10:15 PM   #6
falc122727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
Yep, hitting the volume button works to clear it on my newer Samsung TVs also. I'm guessing this trick probably works on all Samsung TVs.
That won't work for me since I have the volume button programmed to work the AV Receiver. When you do that it disables the volume to the TV.
falc122727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 10:35 PM   #7
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by falc122727 View Post
That won't work for me since I have the volume button programmed to work the AV Receiver. When you do that it disables the volume to the TV.
Well then you have 2 other options that I can think of:

1. Keep the Samsung TV remote handy and use it to clear the input menu

2. Use the TV power button on the TiVo remote to do a quick off/on of the TV to clear the input menu
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 05:47 PM   #8
falc122727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
Well then you have 2 other options that I can think of:

1. Keep the Samsung TV remote handy and use it to clear the input menu

2. Use the TV power button on the TiVo remote to do a quick off/on of the TV to clear the input menu
I've been doing 1. and will stick with it. Not sure turning the TV on and off more than I need to is a good thing.

I did learn something cool while investigating this issue. I was also annoyed that there was no AV Power button and had to use another remote to turn my AV Receiver on and off. However, after you load the "TV Power" button with your TV's 4 digit Code, load the AV Receiver 4 digit code into "TV Power" button also. The "TV Power" button will then turn on/off your TV and AV Receiver simultaneously.
falc122727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 07:35 PM   #9
sldozier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 8
Ding, ding, ding! I've been "soooo" looking for a way to turn off my AV receiver using the Tivo remote, but didn't think you could program the remote to turn the TV and the AV receiver simultaneously. Great find
__________________
1/14 - Roamio Plus - Family Room
1/14 - Roamio - Media Room
1/14 - Mini - Master Bedroom
sldozier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 08:52 AM   #10
nocturne1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by falc122727 View Post
I've been doing 1. and will stick with it. Not sure turning the TV on and off more than I need to is a good thing.

I did learn something cool while investigating this issue. I was also annoyed that there was no AV Power button and had to use another remote to turn my AV Receiver on and off. However, after you load the "TV Power" button with your TV's 4 digit Code, load the AV Receiver 4 digit code into "TV Power" button also. The "TV Power" button will then turn on/off your TV and AV Receiver simultaneously.
Thanks! I saw that the slide remote supported this, but I never tried on the normal Roamio one. Works great!
nocturne1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |