TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-06-2014, 08:05 AM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
Question is the Mini still pretty fast with networked Premiere

I have a 4-tuner Premiere in my setup. Its located in our main bedroom. Now that the Mini has dynamic tuning, I was thinking of getting one to add to my system. I would then like to move the 4-tuner Premiere to the living room and put this mini in the bedroom instead since I have heard its interface is faster (& this is where we tend to watch TV more).

Will the Mini be significantly faster even with an older Premiere as its main hub/source for the tuner & recordings? Does a mini work faster with a Roamio in the mix compared to a Premiere or does it not matter? Just curious.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 08:18 AM   #2
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,938
I am currently using a Mini connected via MOCA to a TiVo Premiere 4. Anecdotally, I find the Mini to be much faster and more responsive than the Premiere.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 09:25 AM   #3
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,258
Yes, before Roamio line was introduced I was using a Mini as a front end to my Elite since I couldn't tolerate slowness of the Elite. The Mini is very responsive, much like the Roamio series behaves. Now that I have a Roamio Pro I don't have much use for Mini or my series 4 units anymore - the rest of the family uses those now.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 02:32 PM   #4
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 990
My Minis were def faster than the Premiere 4 XL they were originally attached to. That's since been upgraded to a Roamio Pro. I didn't notice the Minis get any faster when that happened.
__________________
Roamio Pro + Mini (x3)
Premiere XL4 + Mini (x2) + Premiere
Premiere (x2) + Series 3 OLED (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2)
DirecTiVo (x3)
Series 1
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 04:56 AM   #5
HF444
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 14
Any performance differences

Has anyone seen what ( if any ) the speed differences are when :

using a Mini with a Premiere

using a Mini with a Roamio Basic

using a Mini with a Roamio Plus

using a Mini with a Roamio Pro

Thanks.
HF444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 08:46 AM   #6
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 990
The speeds of my Minis didn't change when I upgraded from a slow Premiere 4XL to a much-faster Roamio Pro.
__________________
Roamio Pro + Mini (x3)
Premiere XL4 + Mini (x2) + Premiere
Premiere (x2) + Series 3 OLED (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2)
DirecTiVo (x3)
Series 1
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:17 AM   #7
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 944
I don't see any difference between accessing my Roamio Plus or my 2-tuner Premiere from a Mini. Interacting with a Premiere solely over the network is fast. The speed problem arises when the Premiere has to process and output all of the HDUI graphics.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 07:43 PM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by HF444 View Post
Has anyone seen what ( if any ) the speed differences are when :

using a Mini with a Premiere

using a Mini with a Roamio Basic

using a Mini with a Roamio Plus

using a Mini with a Roamio Pro

Thanks.
I've tried with a Mini connected to an ELite as host, a Roamio Pro as host, and a Roamio Basic as host. The Mini seemed to be the same speed when connected to each them.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 12:24 AM   #9
HF444
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 14
Thanks for the responses.

This is good info to know.
HF444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |