TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 12-26-2013, 09:32 AM   #1
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 175
Play All Shows In This Group

This is a pretty neat new feature on the Roamio. At least new to me, was it ever available on the Premiere?

Anyway, is there anymore to this feature that I don't know about it? Can you customize your playlist? So far, it seems limited to just playing the whole group.
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:19 AM   #2
awsnyde
Registered User
 
awsnyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 140
Hmm, my memory seems to indicate that capability was there going back to at least the Series 3 (the first non-DirecTV TiVo that I had), but at the very least I'm pretty sure it was on the Premiere.

I haven't found a way to configure it. It would be nice to be able to start from any episode at least.

I never seem to be able to remember suggestions when the TiVo survey comes around, but a generally Playlist-like feature would be nice, not just in a particular group but throughout the My Shows list.
awsnyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 07:15 PM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,993
I call this "Folder Play."

When you highlight a group in your MyShows/Playlist and press Play, it will play through the group from the oldest recording to newest. You can either watch through each from start to end, or you can press ChDown/ChUp to go to the Prev/Next recording.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 07:23 AM   #4
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,883
The same feature is available on my Premier and S-3's.
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 07:53 AM   #5
The TiVo Dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
...wish there was a folder delete too...
The TiVo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 08:23 AM   #6
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by The TiVo Dude View Post
...wish there was a folder delete too...
There is. Highlight a folder and press CLEAR
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 08:25 AM   #7
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by The TiVo Dude View Post
...wish there was a folder delete too...
There is... just highlight the folder you wish to delete and press 'clear' on the remote.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 11:38 AM   #8
KevinG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mt. Laurel, NJ.
Posts: 278
...wish there was a folder transfer too... ;-)
KevinG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 01:38 PM   #9
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADG View Post
The same feature is available on my Premier and S-3's.
The TivoHD series, is that the S-3's? If so, I can't understand how I missed it all these years. LOL!
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 01:48 PM   #10
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by siratfus View Post
The TivoHD series, is that the S-3's? If so, I can't understand how I missed it all these years. LOL!
Yes. I tell you the same thing I tell folks about computers: play around with stuff - try different things with the remote. You won't hurt anything
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 03:38 PM   #11
tamathat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by siratfus View Post
The TivoHD series, is that the S-3's? If so, I can't understand how I missed it all these years. LOL!
I discovered the play all but didn't know about the ch up/down until recently
tamathat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 04:11 PM   #12
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamathat View Post
I discovered the play all but didn't know about the ch up/down until recently
I discovered the CHup/CHdn when I absent-mindedly reached for them during the "Folder Play."
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 04:42 PM   #13
cowboyinaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kailua Kona, HI
Posts: 2
Play All group by newest?

I have a group I'd like to play all from the newest to the oldest. Is this even possible?
cowboyinaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:11 PM   #14
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboyinaf View Post
I have a group I'd like to play all from the newest to the oldest. Is this even possible?
All you have to do is, highlight that group/folder and press PLAY.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 07:43 AM   #15
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
All you have to do is, highlight that group/folder and press PLAY.
And that does the opposite of what he asked.


Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboyinaf View Post
I have a group I'd like to play all from the newest to the oldest. Is this even possible?
No, it is not. But I have to ask, what show is this that you would want to do that?
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 11:05 AM   #16
cowboyinaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kailua Kona, HI
Posts: 2
Play All group by newest?

I record music from a couple of weekly radio shows off public radio of special interest to me. I usually listen to them sometime soon after they record, but not always. However, I'm keep most of them, (for now) for background music when I'm working around the house. In that instance, I want to play the most recent first, because those shows are the ones I most likely have not heard yet. Yeah?
cowboyinaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 10:28 PM   #17
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADG View Post
Yes. I tell you the same thing I tell folks about computers: play around with stuff - try different things with the remote. You won't hurt anything
I still couldn't believe how I missed this feature and since I haven't sold my old tivohd yet, I fired it up. The reason why I missed this feature on the tivoHD is because when you're in the folder. They show you the list of titles, but that's it. In the Roamio, after the list of titles, there is a divider with 4 more options: play all shows in this group, view upcoming episodes, modify season pass and explore this show.

It never occurred to me that you can just hit play when you have the folder highlighted on the tivoHD. Anyway, this is a great feature. I keep hitting myself over the head because I love this feature, especially the channel up/down to skip to the next episode, and I can't believe for 4 years, I thought it wasn't possible. I just have to laugh at myself.
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |