TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-27-2013, 08:51 PM   #1
jmonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Red face Will I lose all My Book AV Expander Tivo HD Shows moving to Romio

I have a Tivo HD and I'm considering upgrading to a basic Roamio (I have an HD antenna so I don't have another option). However, although I believe that my 1TB My Book AV DVR Expander is apparently supported does anyone know (or have experience) whether I'll lose all my recordings when I make the switch?
jmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 09:14 PM   #2
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,725
You can't move an expander from one Tivo to another and keep the recordings, they're wedded to the original unit.
You'll need to copy them from the old Tivo to the new, THEN move the expander which will be reformatted for the Roamio.

You would be better off just replacing the Roamio Basic HD with a 3TB before putting it in to service, easier and more reliable than an Expander.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 09:29 PM   #3
jmonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
You can't move an expander from one Tivo to another and keep the recordings, they're wedded to the original unit.
You'll need to copy them from the old Tivo to the new, THEN move the expander which will be reformatted for the Roamio.

You would be better off just replacing the Roamio Basic HD with a 3TB before putting it in to service, easier and more reliable than an Expander.
Thanks for the feedback... A bit more information and some questions???

The idea of swapping out the hard drive is a good one, but the expander is paid for and I'll be getting a TIVO stream as well (a drawback to the HD antenna, but no cable with a huge monthly bill). I figure if the expander goes eventually, I will upgrade the Roamio hard drive at that time.

Now the questions...
  1. How do I determine which of my recordings are on the extender and which are on the HD drive?
  2. Once I identify which ones, how can I move them to the Roamio?
  3. Is there anyway to just watch the shows on the old TIVO and extender and start fresh with the roamio without getting another contract?

jmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 12:11 AM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,685
You can copy all the recordings to the computer and then send it to the new box, but to copy from Tivo to Tivo, you would need both subscribed to Tivo Service.

The recordings are stored on both drives at the same time, parts on 1 and other parts on the other. Removing the Expandr will delete them and there is no way to tell which is on what drive.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!

Last edited by ThAbtO : 12-28-2013 at 03:06 AM.
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 07:56 AM   #5
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
What I would suggest, if you have enough storage on the computer...
Transfer all the shows you want to keep to the computer.
Get the Roamio and go through guided setup to get everything configured as to be ready for use.
Take original hard drive out and put it on the shelf (emergency backup).
Install 3TB drive and go through setup again.
Transfer shows back from computer to new Roamio.
Repurpose Tivo expander drive for extra storage on the computer.

From the stories I've read here, there is no way I would want an expander drive connected to the Tivo. If it ever fails, *poof*, your recordings are gone.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 08:13 AM   #6
dave13077
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
What I would suggest, if you have enough storage on the computer...
Transfer all the shows you want to keep to the computer.
Get the Roamio and go through guided setup to get everything configured as to be ready for use.
Take original hard drive out and put it on the shelf (emergency backup).
Install 3TB drive and go through setup again.
Transfer shows back from computer to new Roamio.
Repurpose Tivo expander drive for extra storage on the computer.

From the stories I've read here, there is no way I would want an expander drive connected to the Tivo. If it ever fails, *poof*, your recordings are gone.
I am looking to do the same thing but because I have Time Warner Cable most, if not all, of my shows are copy-protected. I assume I am out of luck since I don't think those shows can be moved to a computer. If they were able to be I would go out and get a new Roamio today!!
dave13077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 08:37 AM   #7
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave13077 View Post
I am looking to do the same thing but because I have Time Warner Cable most, if not all, of my shows are copy-protected. I assume I am out of luck since I don't think those shows can be moved to a computer. If they were able to be I would go out and get a new Roamio today!!
Unfortunately your assumption is correct, you're out of luck with TWC.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 08:37 AM   #8
jmonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Thumbs up

Thanks to everyone for their help and suggestions! I think I've got what I need to move forward with my upgrade.
jmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:04 PM   #9
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,981
Just to confirm, you can watch the shows you have already recorded forever without a sub.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 04:22 PM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,451
If you do not have a lifetime sub on that HD (I'm assuming a TCD652160, although with the confusion TiVo themselves introduced into the naming conventions you may mean a TCD648250 instead), then leverage any purchase of a new TiVo into $99 lifetime on the S3.

Do not let them tell you "no", they've done it for too many others.

You may have to keep calling until you get a CSR who will co-operate, but make them understand no purchase of new TiVo without the deal, and that without the deal you're going to quit montly payments on the S3.

Then you can watch what's on the S3 at your convenience, and you'll have given it some resale value.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |