TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2014, 08:07 AM   #1
DrSmith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
future DirecTV + OTA plan

stevel wrote: You would not lose OTA - but you'd have to get the AM-21 tuner.

Thanks Steve. That's an interesting starting point for me, but probably not the whole solution. Right now we have 5 TVs in our house and only 2 of them have HDVR2/Sat+Tivo connections. The other 3 TVs just use basic OTA with an HDVR2 output muxed in on NTSC channel 3.

The AM-21 looks like a good solution for my 2 main sets (assuming a sat+OTA muxed signal can feed 2 AM-21s), but is there a way for my 3 other sets to keep OTA without needing set top boxes?
thanks
DrSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:06 AM   #2
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,680
TC CLUB MEMBER
I'd think that you'd be a candidate for a Genie, or maybe two if DirecTV allows it (they are introducing a SWM-13 LNB that might enable this) with AM-21 (each) and wireless Genie clients at the TVs. Then all of the TVs would have access to all of the channels, including OTA, that the Genies have. Each AM-21 has two OTA tuners.

You would not mux the OTA with the sat feed, but would run it separately. SWM is incompatible with OTA muxing.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 08:34 AM   #3
DrSmith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks again Steve. Yes, Genie + clients would work, but I think then I would be paying for 4 additional TVs with DirecTV, no? And I would need set-top boxes everywhere.

I would actually even prefer to have 2 TVs on Genie and the rest plain OTA with no DirecTV at all. I don't want to pay DirecTV PER TV - that's why I installed DirecTV years ago and bought all my own equipment.

So I'm really still looking for a diplexer that works with HD satellite feeds so I can use my existing coax lines for sat or OTA or both depending on the room.

EDIT: the answer might be this!
http://www.weaknees.com/pdf/SWM-with-diplexer.html

Last edited by DrSmith : 10-01-2014 at 08:43 AM. Reason: new information
DrSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 09:53 AM   #4
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,680
TC CLUB MEMBER
Ok. I didn't quite understand what you were looking for.


Steve
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 03:28 PM   #5
Diana Collins
Registered User
 
Diana Collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City Suburbs
Posts: 1,443
You can not have 2 Genies. The problem is with their IP clients - their software was not designed to deal with two servers on the network.

You can not multiplex OTA with DirecTV satellite signals if you use their standard HD dish setup, which uses SWM (Single Wire Multiswitch) technology because they use the UHF/VHF frequencies for MOCA.

To do HD with multiplexed OTA you have to get a SWM-8 outboard switch and a legacy (i.e. non-SWM) Dish/LNB with four wires running from the dish to the SWM-8 switch. The SWM-8 has an "Off Air" port that will mux OTA onto all 8 outputs.
__________________
Current Setup: 2 Roamio Pros, 5 Minis on FiOS (all with lifetime)

Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006
Diana Collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |