TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-26-2014, 04:08 PM   #1
abensky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 3
No familiar beeps for FF/REW on roamio?

I recently upgraded to a Roamio Plus from an old Series 2. I also have a Premier in another room. The Roamio has the sound effects volume set to medium and I easily hear it when I press certain buttons like select when in certain modes (I'd have to go take notes to see where it beeps and where it doesn't). When I press the FF and REW buttons, and then the Play button when in FF or REW mode, there are no beeps. I've been using TiVO since Series-1, and am now on my 5th unit, and they all provide the familiar badoop-badoop-badoop when pressing the FF button (once, twice, thrice). Now the Roamio doesn't do this and I can't find any setting to make it do it again!

Is this intentional, or is my unit defective? I haven't seen any other mentions of this sound effect being removed, so it seems maybe my unit is defective, but before I spend hours on the phone with tivo support I wanted to see if this is intentional behavior for the Roamio. Or maybe I'm missing the setting?
abensky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 06:06 PM   #2
peter888chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by abensky View Post
I recently upgraded to a Roamio Plus from an old Series 2. I also have a Premier in another room. The Roamio has the sound effects volume set to medium and I easily hear it when I press certain buttons like select when in certain modes (I'd have to go take notes to see where it beeps and where it doesn't). When I press the FF and REW buttons, and then the Play button when in FF or REW mode, there are no beeps. I've been using TiVO since Series-1, and am now on my 5th unit, and they all provide the familiar badoop-badoop-badoop when pressing the FF button (once, twice, thrice). Now the Roamio doesn't do this and I can't find any setting to make it do it again!

Is this intentional, or is my unit defective? I haven't seen any other mentions of this sound effect being removed, so it seems maybe my unit is defective, but before I spend hours on the phone with tivo support I wanted to see if this is intentional behavior for the Roamio. Or maybe I'm missing the setting?
Do you have audio output set to Dolby? If so, this will happen when Dolby output is happening. If you change the output to PCM only, you'll hear the beeps no matter what.
peter888chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 06:53 PM   #3
abensky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 3
that was it! Said so right on the Dolby Audio screen, too d'oh!

thanks!
abensky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 07:24 PM   #4
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 22,150
TC CLUB MEMBER
I turn the beeps off. Intentionally.
__________________
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by human error
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 08:40 PM   #5
kucharsk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
I find it strange that the S3 TiVO did beeps via Dolby but the Roamio cannot.

I wonder if it's a hardware limitation or a software choice…
kucharsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 08:48 PM   #6
abensky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 3
I agree. it's odd that any audio setting would disable the beeps. In fact even in Dolby where the FF/REW beeps do not exist, some of the other beeps do, so it's clearly not a hardware limitation. I'm sure it was some sort of cost/performance/quality/feature tradeoff, but it's hard to believe it would be that hard.
abensky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 06:36 PM   #7
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 945
I don't know all the specifics, but as I understand it, there was an issue with the TiVo having a Dolby decoder, but not an encoder. So it could decode the Dolby stream and present it on the output as PCM, but it couldn't decode the Dolby signal, add the beeps, and then re-encode the combined audio back into Dolby.
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:54 AM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesH View Post
I don't know all the specifics, but as I understand it, there was an issue with the TiVo having a Dolby decoder, but not an encoder. So it could decode the Dolby stream and present it on the output as PCM, but it couldn't decode the Dolby signal, add the beeps, and then re-encode the combined audio back into Dolby.
This was the case with TiVo thirteen years ago. Any channel on DirecTV I watched that had Dolby Digital, the TiVo sounds would not work. This has always been the case with digital channels with DD.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:08 PM   #9
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by bareyb View Post
I turn the beeps off. Intentionally.

This This This. I HATE them...
__________________
"You don't know Bierboy like I know Bierboy. He became a lot more amusing after I figured out his sense of humor..." -- Rob Helmerichs

XL4
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:41 PM   #10
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
I like the TiVo sounds. But I only hear them when going into the old menus. WHich I still wish they would convert. I would like to be able to do anything in the menus and still have a program playing in the upper right corner.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |