TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-22-2013, 10:24 PM   #1
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,787
HDMI output not working no matter what on Roamio Plus

Have had my Roamio Plus and TiVo Mini setup for less than a week. This morning the HDMI output on the Plus won't work no matter what I try. Everything else works. I can use the component output from the Plus to drive my TV. The Mini works. Everything seems fine, except for HDMI.

I've tried:
  • power cycle
  • leave unplugged for 30 minutes
  • move Plus to different TV
  • plug in Series 3 to TV that Mini was on, using same HDMI cable, works fine.
  • Plus on new TV and HDMI won't work where a Premiere, Series 3 and Mini all worked fine.

I think I've ruled out every combination I can think of. My Software Version is 20.3.8-USA-6-848.

I've seen the threads about an HDMI standby bug where you use a few tricks to get it to come back. I tried those a little bit, but didn't dig in too deep since power cycles didn't help.

Is it time for a warranty replacement or is there some trick I can use to get this back?
RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 11:27 PM   #2
billcumley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Angry Same Problem, HDMI connection

I have had a Roamio for a few months now and everything was working fine.
I moved some things around and had to reconnect the Roamio. Now I cant get anything out of it. If I power cycle it the system displays audio, goes through the setfup and has no sound. I've been looking throught these postings and found yours and immediately knew we have the same problem. Someone Help Us Please!
billcumley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 11:43 PM   #3
justen_m
Registered User
 
justen_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 6,298
The HDMI went out on my TivoHD. It happened when I slid the Tivo box a couple inches to the left. Seems to have broken the HDMI port connection to the Tivo motherboard. Sometimes if I wiggle the cable it will work for a bit. I gave up and switched to component video and optical digital audio from Tivo to my receiver.

I think the connector is physically fragile. I think this might be the same problem Bill is having [edit: Correction, that's not true. I don't get ANYTHING thru HDMI, ever. No signal at all, so not the same as Bill's. Rick might have the same problem I do.]. Rick, too, if you moved your Tivo even the slightest, or even hit the cord, or did anything that could apply even a tiny amount of stress to the HDMI port in the Tivo.

I too tried everything. The cables are fine. The receiver/tv is fine. It is definitely a hardware problem on my out-of-warranty Tivo. At least component still works, but now I've got four cables instead of one. Grrr.

Last edited by justen_m : 12-23-2013 at 02:33 AM.
justen_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 12:00 AM   #4
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by billcumley View Post
I have had a Roamio for a few months now and everything was working fine.
I moved some things around and had to reconnect the Roamio. Now I cant get anything out of it. If I power cycle it the system displays audio, goes through the setfup and has no sound. I've been looking throught these postings and found yours and immediately knew we have the same problem. Someone Help Us Please!
Not sure that we do. Everything works on mine except HDMI output. Sounds like nothing works on yours. Mine wasn't moved or anything to precede the problem.
RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 12:29 AM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,577
If the HDMI port isn't working then you should send it in to get fixed. So far I've never had an issues with any TiVo HDMI ports going back to 2004 with the DirecTV HD TiVo.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |