TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-16-2013, 12:29 AM   #1
tim1724
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temple City, CA
Posts: 97
Roamio remote easter egg

I accidentally found what I think is a new easter egg in the Roamio remote. (I would imagine that it's in the new slide remote too, but I don't have one to test.)

Press and hold the TiVo and Play buttons on your Roamio remote until the LED lights up. Then release the buttons.

It seems to repeat until you press another button.

If this is old news, sorry, but a quick search of the forum didn't yield any existing threads on this.
tim1724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 01:57 AM   #2
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim1724 View Post
Press and hold the TiVo and Play buttons on your Roamio remote until the LED lights up. Then release the buttons.
And what exactly does that do besides light up the LED? Does it play a little tune?
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 02:55 PM   #3
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Went to Best Buy today and remembered this little "easter egg".

They had a Roamio basic on display and I wanted to hear what the remote sounded like.
With the music in Best Buy, it was hard to hear the tune the remote was playing, but I bet after they close and turn off the music, they'll be wondering what device is "singing" -- if the batteries last, that is.


__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 03:06 PM   #4
Ky_Shag
Shaggy Dog
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 39
its the TiVo theme song
Ky_Shag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 03:14 PM   #5
xbr23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 81
If you push the remote finder on the roamio box, the remote will play the jingle until you find the remote and push a button on the remote
xbr23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 03:17 PM   #6
Ky_Shag
Shaggy Dog
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 39
no button on basic remote plays tune though
Ky_Shag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 12:35 AM   #7
Zu Nim
Registerer Used
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 30
So the basic Roamio doesn't have a hardware button to trigger the remote finder song, but can it be trigged by software? That would be a real easter egg. I wonder if the basic and Plus/Pro use the same ZigBee chip.
Zu Nim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 08:52 AM   #8
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zu Nim View Post
So the basic Roamio doesn't have a hardware button to trigger the remote finder song, but can it be trigged by software?
Not by software, from the remote itself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim1724 View Post
Press and hold the TiVo and Play buttons on your Roamio remote until the LED lights up. Then release the buttons.

__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 05:10 PM   #9
Zu Nim
Registerer Used
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Not by software, from the remote itself.
I'm meant the hardware button on the Plus/Pro, not the remote itself. A trigger in the TiVo software to activate the remote finder (and song).
Zu Nim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 05:31 PM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,847
The new Slide Pro has a dongle you can get to use it with a Premiere/Mini, the dongle itself has a button which activates the remote finder. I wonder if you could use that dongle with a Roamio Basic to have access to the remote finder feature? Or if there would be a conflict because of RF already being built into the unit?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |