TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-14-2013, 01:44 PM   #1
Fred C Dobbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 22
Guide Data

on my new Roamio,
I have few channels where the guide date is simply "To Be Announced" - this is about 48 hours after set up.

The weird part is those channels have no problems on my series3 machine.

Any suggestions?

thanks,

FCD
Fred C Dobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 05:16 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred C Dobbs View Post
on my new Roamio,
I have few channels where the guide date is simply "To Be Announced" - this is about 48 hours after set up.

The weird part is those channels have no problems on my series3 machine.

Any suggestions?

thanks,

FCD
Cable card fully paired ?
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 04:06 PM   #3
marklyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred C Dobbs View Post
on my new Roamio,
I have few channels where the guide date is simply "To Be Announced" - this is about 48 hours after set up.

The weird part is those channels have no problems on my series3 machine.

Any suggestions?

thanks,

FCD
I have the same issue, many of my channels just list "to be announced".
What's the deal? I just got my cable card paired with my Roamio a couple of days ago now. Do I need to have it re-paired?
__________________
- - - - - - - -
Roamio Plus (3Tb)
Mini - Guest BD & Master BD
MOCA
CC: Sci Atl PK802
TA: Cisco STA1520
TimeWarner Cable-Austin
marklyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 05:37 PM   #4
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,066
Just to clear up the confusion, cablecard pairing does not in any way affect guide data.

If you are seeing "to be announced", it means the channel is missing from the guide but your TiVo sees the channel from the channel mapping information. If you see this on multiple channels, it is likely there is an alternate guide available for your area. Try re-running guided setup and do the advanced setup so you can pick from a list of guides in your area.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 05:42 PM   #5
marklyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainwater View Post
Just to clear up the confusion, cablecard pairing does not in any way affect guide data.

If you are seeing "to be announced", it means the channel is missing from the guide but your TiVo sees the channel from the channel mapping information. If you see this on multiple channels, it is likely there is an alternate guide available for your area. Try re-running guided setup and do the advanced setup so you can pick from a list of guides in your area.
That sounds better than what I was just told from Tivo. They had TWC cable card folks on the phone re-authorizing the cable card. When that didn't work the Tivo tech said I'd need to swap out my cable card and/or tuning adapter, especially the tuning adapter.
I only have two guides for my area that match my setup, Time Warner Austin basic and Time Warner Austin Digital. I used the second one when I initially did my guided setup a couple of days ago.

I'm willing to do it again but I'm afraid it will reset all of "my channels" that I selected to show in the guide. Will it?
__________________
- - - - - - - -
Roamio Plus (3Tb)
Mini - Guest BD & Master BD
MOCA
CC: Sci Atl PK802
TA: Cisco STA1520
TimeWarner Cable-Austin
marklyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 06:54 PM   #6
marklyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 422
doing the guided setup fixed my problem...

I re-did the guided setup, chose the same service provider (TWC - Austin Digital) and after it re-loaded everything, including guide data, all of my channel listings showed guide data! In fact, it didn't even wipe "my channels" that I had previously selected to only see in the guide.

I'm not sure why a Tivo support staff wouldn't know to try this basic step but, oh well, I'm happy.
__________________
- - - - - - - -
Roamio Plus (3Tb)
Mini - Guest BD & Master BD
MOCA
CC: Sci Atl PK802
TA: Cisco STA1520
TimeWarner Cable-Austin
marklyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |