TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 12-22-2013, 07:12 PM   #31
villager-li
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
I THINK THE ISSUE IS FIXED.

I tried Tivo Support again after my iPad starting freezing when streaming video. Within the first 5 minutes of the call, the agent (William) asked if I had FiOS. And once I confirmed I did, he asked me if I had a MI424WR router, which I confirmed. Then he asked how I connected the Roamio to the router and I told him Coax and Ethernet (same as the previous Premiere unit). He immediately told me that's the problem - since I am using MoCA with the Mini, and the FiOS network in my home is already MoCA enabled, connecting the Roamio with the Ethernet in addition to Coax is causing the Roamio to try and set up a new MoCA network and that will conflict with the Verizon network (or something along those lines). He instructed me to disconnect the Ethernet and use only the Coax connection. It's been about 2 hours since then and everything is working 100% perfect - iPad streaming and Mini.

Thank you William for your help! No thanks to all the others at Tivo who were not able to help me fix such a simple issue!!!

If anyone from Tivo is reading this, I really hope you understand just how poor the support has been on this issue. This could have been resolved on the first call, without me having to go nuts troubleshooting everything in my house. And, why don't your instructions state that you can't set it up the way I had it if you have FiOS - all I did was follow your instructions!

I hope this helps others who have similar problems....
villager-li is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 07:58 AM   #32
sangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by villager-li View Post
I THINK THE ISSUE IS FIXED.

I tried Tivo Support again after my iPad starting freezing when streaming video. Within the first 5 minutes of the call, the agent (William) asked if I had FiOS. And once I confirmed I did, he asked me if I had a MI424WR router, which I confirmed. Then he asked how I connected the Roamio to the router and I told him Coax and Ethernet (same as the previous Premiere unit). He immediately told me that's the problem - since I am using MoCA with the Mini, and the FiOS network in my home is already MoCA enabled, connecting the Roamio with the Ethernet in addition to Coax is causing the Roamio to try and set up a new MoCA network and that will conflict with the Verizon network (or something along those lines). He instructed me to disconnect the Ethernet and use only the Coax connection. It's been about 2 hours since then and everything is working 100% perfect - iPad streaming and Mini.

Thank you William for your help! No thanks to all the others at Tivo who were not able to help me fix such a simple issue!!!

If anyone from Tivo is reading this, I really hope you understand just how poor the support has been on this issue. This could have been resolved on the first call, without me having to go nuts troubleshooting everything in my house. And, why don't your instructions state that you can't set it up the way I had it if you have FiOS - all I did was follow your instructions!

I hope this helps others who have similar problems....
Just wondering if everything is still working well with your setup since this change.
sangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:00 AM   #33
villager-li
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Yep, everything works perfectly now with the Roamio only using MoCA without Ethernet.
villager-li is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 06:46 PM   #34
jntc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 112
Unfortunately, I don't have FIOS. I still have the stuttering video and audio dropouts. I too can rewind and play it right back, and it plays fine with no skip on audio or video. However, live TV is doing it quite a bit. I also have ~280 PHY and good 2400mhz splitters, and a POE, with all 'home run' cable runs to the devices. I've also tried via ethernet and get the same issues (actually worse it seems) I've swapped out the mini's and still get the issues.
jntc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:49 PM   #35
ccoulson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 108
I hate to resurrect a year old plus thread, but this seems to be the only thread about Minis skipping and freezing.

I just set up a new Roamio (replacing my Series4+) with 2 Minis connected via MoCA. I do have a POE filter installed. I also have a three-way splitter post POE, then a splitter at the living room drop with one going to the Roamio and one going to my Comcast voice/internet gateway. I do have a Monster surge protector that the cable goes through prior to getting to the Roamio.

The Minis are showing good TX/RX PHY rates in the 260-280 range with PWR -20. There are very few packet errors (18 out of 800M).

But, one Mini in particular I have noticed is experiencing freezing/skipping of 2 seconds. I have only noticed this on SD channels, not on HD.

The PWR of -20 seems a bit concerning? Thoughts?
ccoulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:02 PM   #36
villager-li
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
My entire problem was related to my Roamio unit having both a MoCA connection and Ethernet connection active at the same time. You can only use 1 or the other. I disconnected the Ethernet and that fixed the entir problem (unfortunately took many hours of troubleshooting and multiple calls to TiVo support before an agent finally gave me this advice).
villager-li is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:02 PM   #37
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccoulson View Post
I hate to resurrect a year old plus thread, but this seems to be the only thread about Minis skipping and freezing.

I just set up a new Roamio (replacing my Series4+) with 2 Minis connected via MoCA. I do have a POE filter installed. I also have a three-way splitter post POE, then a splitter at the living room drop with one going to the Roamio and one going to my Comcast voice/internet gateway. I do have a Monster surge protector that the cable goes through prior to getting to the Roamio.

The Minis are showing good TX/RX PHY rates in the 260-280 range with PWR -20. There are very few packet errors (18 out of 800M).

But, one Mini in particular I have noticed is experiencing freezing/skipping of 2 seconds. I have only noticed this on SD channels, not on HD.

The PWR of -20 seems a bit concerning? Thoughts?
The PHY rates are golden... Villager makes a good point. Is the moca network created by an adapter or the DVR? How is the DVR connected?

Any amps on the line?
Try removing Monster protector?
Change the moca channel one or two notches higher on each device.
Try swapping the Minis and see if the problem follows the Mini or stays at the location.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.