TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Forum Jump
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-16-2014, 02:53 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Netgear Device

I have a new Roameo and I have never been able to get a strong enough wireless signal to stay connected to the Internet. The TiVo tech I spoke with suggested I get a wireless extender. I did. I got a Zyxel, but it doesn't make the connection any better. Yesterday I talked to another TiVo tech and she suggested I get a Netgear device, but she couldn't think of the name of it. She said it mimics a hardwire connection. Does anyone know what I need to get? thanks in advance for your help.

anitacd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 04:27 PM   #2
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 155

Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 06:46 PM   #3
TiVoholic by the bay
ThAbtO's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,681
Where is your wireless router located? If its fairly close and you still get poor signal, you could have interference on the wireless signal. Some things to try: Change the wireless channel setting on your router, don't use AUTO. Choose channel 1, 6, or 11.

Do you have a cordless landline phone? Do not place it too close to the router or that is a factor in the interference.

You may not even need another device as that may add to your problems.

Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)


The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 07:41 PM   #4
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24

I suggest creating a MoCA network. I think it's less fuss than powerline networking, and if you have a modern cable provider like FiOS, you already have it.

(1) Series 1, 14-hour TiVo (circa 2000) Upgraded to 160-hours (Retired)
(2) TiVo HDs (1 Retired)
(1) Roamio Plus
(1) Mini
vinsuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 07:42 PM   #5
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 33
My wireless connection to my roamio pro succccckkked. I bought a netgear WN3000RP extender and plugged it into the Ethernet port. I also got a netgear gearhead subscription and they changed my channel on the router to 11 and changed my router speed to 300 Mbps. It works fine now.

I am a strong believer that electronic equipment should work correctly as it comes from the box. My xl4 worked great in the same location with the default wireless settings.

c133roamioerrors is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.
Page generated in 0.06140590 seconds (66.43% PHP - 33.57% MySQL) with 18 queries