TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2013, 06:13 PM   #1
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,191
How do I get full show info ("INFO" like the old days)

There was a time when you were looking at a show, and pressed INFO, that a screen came up with all the info that TiVo had on a show. Directors, writers, misc info, and especially the full cast. It even noted guest stars.

Now the screen that pops up is a miserable little display, that contains about 10% of what TiVo has on a show.

SO... is there a way to get more info? Or the old display? This is a Roamio, running HDUI

~~~deets~~~
I have a WL with a keyword "ASPEN". This VH1 show "Model Employee" is in the To-Do List, because it meets the criteria. I couldn't figure out why, but had a suspicion it was an actor named Aspen. The INFO screen is useless. It lists 3 or 4 names, and that's it. A Google search shows Aspen Brandy Lea is one of the stars, so now I know what to Boolean out. But really, isn't there a better way to do this? Why have we gone backwards on this?

Or am I missing something?

Thanks!
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 09:29 PM   #2
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,496
Info still works.. I definitely still see guest stars.. or maybe it only works on shows in Now Playing?

I don't have a Roamio, but I know it still works on the Premiere 4, which I think is *essentially* the same software.

I mean, maybe there used to be way more info (e.g. on a S1), but I definitely still see things like guest stars.

I *THINK* there have always been MORE details that Tivo hasn't shown you, like EVEN MORE guest stars.. I am not sure about that, this is totally a guess. At least nowadays it tells you which WL matches, which I think is useful!!!
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:32 PM   #3
christheman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 128
On a Series 4 Premiere, I get to the rest of the Info by hitting Info.

Then the message "Hit Select to Record" comes up. I go into that menu and then hit "Recording Options".

Then I hit Info again and get to the extra detail by scrolling down using the Channel button.

Not at all intuitive, and now that I have posted this Tivo will probably remove that bit of functionality in the next release.

P.S. I now see that you are running the HDUI. My steps are given for the SDUI, so your mileage may vary. There may be an easier way, but I at least figured this out for myself (accidentally) a while back.

Last edited by christheman : 12-05-2013 at 08:52 PM. Reason: added more steps
christheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 09:11 PM   #4
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,191
Y'all are right. All the info is there. It turns out that one show had almost no info, and was missing almost all the cast info. I leaped to... well, you can see where I jumped.

I tried Info on several other shows, both recorded and To-Do. Info is there.

Signed
Humbled in Houston
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |