TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-03-2014, 12:22 PM   #1
mvalpreda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
TiVo Slide Pro - button wear

I love the Slide Pro vs the old Slide remote. The range is much better, much more responsive, etc. Just wondering if anyone else has one and the Slide Pro shows excessive wear on the buttons? The buttons that get used most of the time are showing white where the black pigment has 'rubbed' off. Never had this with the old Slide remote.
mvalpreda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 01:42 PM   #2
FitzAusTex
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 148
I don't use my Pro as often (in bedroom) as my regular Roamio remote (living room) so no button wear yet on the Pro. However, the skip forward and skip back symbols have nearly completely worn off my Roamio remote. I really do use those two buttons the most, so not surprised those two would be the buttons to wear off. (purchased Roamio and Pro in February). I expect the same thing to happen to the Pro, eventually.
FitzAusTex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 01:42 PM   #3
eric102
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 112
Nope, I have 5 of them and none are showing any wear. Several of them get used every day and were purchased shortly after they were released.
eric102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 02:07 PM   #4
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,754
The same here. I have several of them from the first batch available at TiVo.com and none of them have shown any wear issues.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3--32TB unRAID1a
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 04:28 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 26,549
TC CLUB MEMBER
I use mine daily and don't see any wear. It does have a mistake on the Input button (extra drip of ink) that kinda bugs me, but it's been there since I got it.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 05:55 PM   #6
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 379
I finally caved and got a Slide Pro (with dongle) yesterday. I demoted the standard Roamio RF remote to the master bedroom to work with my Mini. My near-launch-day Roamio remote looks kinda bad. Even some buttons that never get used (like Input) have their text halfway rubbed off. I suspect my fingers graze over that button while I'm feeling for other buttons - I use the remote almost entirely by feel.

How are the actual buttons constructed? Do the standard remotes have actual black buttons with white text painted on? And then the Slide Pro has clear buttons (with a think coating of black material over everything but the text) to allow the light through?

I've had TiVo Glo remotes in the past and have never had any issues with button degradation.
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 11:26 AM   #7
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrizzo80 View Post
I've had TiVo Glo remotes in the past and have never had any issues with button degradation.
With at least the original TiVo Glo remotes, the numbers/text was molded into the button and not painted on so no real issues with wear (the white is just barely showing on the sharp edge of the fast forward and rewind buttons after 8 years of use with our original S3 OLED TiVo Glo remote).

Scott
__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 09:22 AM   #8
Time_Lord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrizzo80 View Post
I demoted the standard Roamio RF remote to the master bedroom to work with my Mini. My near-launch-day Roamio remote looks kinda bad. Even some buttons that never get used (like Input) have their text halfway rubbed off. I suspect my fingers graze over that button while I'm feeling for other buttons - I use the remote almost entirely by feel.
I'm in the same boat, all the numbers are almost completely worn off, the skip forward/back is gone and the "small" buttons near the top (input, zoom etc) are also worn off.

I have no printing left on the thumbs up/down or the A-D buttons.

I also use the remote primarily by feel (and this remote sucks for that).

-TL
Time_Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 11:17 PM   #9
rucheridee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 42
Can the slide pro remote work with an Apple TV? I haven't had the need to input anything with tivo (except during initial setup maybe), but I do go crazy at times with my Apple TV & could really use a keyboard there. I do pull out the iDevices sometimes, but much more convenient to use a remote. At least I'm thinking the convenience factor is high like how I used to feel about my first smartphone with slide out keyboard.
rucheridee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 07:31 PM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 26,549
TC CLUB MEMBER
I believe the remote is paired to the dongle, so you could try to put the dongle in the AppleTV and see if it works. Depends if the dongle is considered a standard HID device, or if it uses special drivers. If it needs drivers then it wont work.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 09:49 PM   #11
garberfc
TiVo'ing since '00
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Burlington CT, USA
Posts: 144
Is it the case you often have hand lotion on your fingers? I've seen remotes age incredibly fast when this happens. Their must be some alcohol or something in the lotion / perfume.
__________________
TiVo since Series I ! Goal: Dump DTV!!!
garberfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 02:27 AM   #12
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by garberfc View Post
Is it the case you often have hand lotion on your fingers? I've seen remotes age incredibly fast when this happens. Their must be some alcohol or something in the lotion / perfume.
Watch a lot of porn on our tivos, do we?
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 08:54 AM   #13
Jeeters
Registered Snoozer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 6,950
I have a slide pro that I bought back in July.

The big "doughnut" button used for Play / FF / RW is showing white on the edges. Especially the edge near the replay button, probably because of my thumb contantly moving between the big button and the replay button.
Other buttons still look OK for now.
Jeeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 09:46 AM   #14
wickerbill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by rucheridee View Post
Can the slide pro remote work with an Apple TV? I haven't had the need to input anything with tivo (except during initial setup maybe), but I do go crazy at times with my Apple TV & could really use a keyboard there. I do pull out the iDevices sometimes, but much more convenient to use a remote. At least I'm thinking the convenience factor is high like how I used to feel about my first smartphone with slide out keyboard.
If you have an iPhone or iPad, just download the free Remote app from apple. It will let you use the keyboard on your iOS device to type on the apple TV. I seriously doubt a TiVo remote will work with an Apple TV. You would also have to buy a USB adapter to even plug in the dongle to the Apple TV because it doesn't have a full size USB port on it.
wickerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 04:53 PM   #15
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 26,549
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeters View Post
I have a slide pro that I bought back in July.

The big "doughnut" button used for Play / FF / RW is showing white on the edges. Especially the edge near the replay button, probably because of my thumb contantly moving between the big button and the replay button.
Other buttons still look OK for now.
So are the buttons actually white and painted/coated black? I do have a few weird white spots on mine but I assumed it was dripped paint when they silk-screened the letters onto the buttons. But if the buttons are white then it could actually be wear, or scratches, with the white showing through.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.