TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2013, 09:53 PM   #1
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,043
No Internet, no search, in HDUI

My Internet was out briefly today, and I noticed something troubling: Search was greyed out on my TiVo, and didn't work at all, despite the TiVo having locally-stored guide data. Since this was a Premiere, I temporarily switched to the SDUI, did a "Search by Title", and successfully scheduled the recording I wanted. But if it had been a Roamio, I guess I couldn't have searched at all?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 11:19 PM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,101
Yup. When TiVo servers are down search doesn't work either. It's scary/annoying how dependent TiVo is making series 4+ dependent on always on internet.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 07:08 AM   #3
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,105
No changes can be made in the To Do List either
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 12:08 PM   #4
hershey4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Yup. When TiVo servers are down search doesn't work either. It's scary/annoying how dependent TiVo is making series 4+ dependent on always on internet.

yeah, that's how they track our every move!!!!

Probably ad-related too.
hershey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 02:10 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,100
The Roamio and Mini don't even have an SDUI, so no internet makes them nearly useless.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 05:54 AM   #6
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by hershey4 View Post
yeah, that's how they track our every move!
Actually, even with the SDUI, there was already a log of every remote key press. (That's how they can give reports on "most replayed ad during the Superbowl".) They don't need to force Internet dependence onto searches for that.

This seems more like laziness -- they build in this "cool" feature of searching the Internet, then don't bother to make sure it degrades gracefully in a not-always-on environment.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 07:01 AM   #7
hershey4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 165
I think another part of the internet dependence is the list of the other video providers tacked on to the bottom of other lists... netflix, hulu, etc. I think a rep once told me that list is internet dependent to pick up the logos (which should be cached locally I would think).
hershey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 09:30 AM   #8
gonzotek
tivo_xml developer
 
gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Outside Phildadelphia
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by hershey4 View Post
I think another part of the internet dependence is the list of the other video providers tacked on to the bottom of other lists... netflix, hulu, etc. I think a rep once told me that list is internet dependent to pick up the logos (which should be cached locally I would think).
Still should fail gracefully - show the search screen and continue to allow local guide data searches. Just don't show results for the video providers - maybe show a note about troubleshooting connectivity or something instead (bonus points if the note took you to the relevant troubleshooting/networking screen).
__________________
Follow @pytivo on Twitter for project updates and more!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A Web app for Roku Remote Control
gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |