TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2013, 07:51 PM   #1
gunste24
gunste24
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: California
Posts: 2
Connect Roamio to TV's coax input

Tivo says that one cannot connect a Roamio to the coax input of a TV.
But there seem to be a cable available to run the HDMI to coax input.
Also Etekcity seems to have some boxes that convert HDMI to coax.
Has anyone made such a connection?
Or is this a lost cause?
Tivo people are very sparse with information.
gunste24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 05:24 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunste24 View Post
Tivo says that one cannot connect a Roamio to the coax input of a TV.
But there seem to be a cable available to run the HDMI to coax input.
Also Etekcity seems to have some boxes that convert HDMI to coax.
Has anyone made such a connection?
Or is this a lost cause?
Tivo people are very sparse with information.
Co-axial means a wire in the middle with some sort of insulation and then another conductor around that.

The cable that the cable company runs to and into your house is a type of co-axial cable.

The cables with RCA plugs on the end that you use to hook stuff up to the back of your stereo are another type.

The ones like that with a yellow RCA plug that are used to get composite video from one place to another, and the red, green, blue trio of RCA plugs that are used for component video are also co-axial cables.

So you're going to have to be more specific when you say "...the coax input of a TV", because my first thought was "the input to the television's tuner where you connect the 75 Ohm impedence co-axial cable from the antenna or the cable company, but your remark about HDMI makes me wonder if you're talking about composite or component video.


(depending on the TV, it may also have a "coax" input for digital audio over

A. Wire with an RCA plug on the end,

or

B. Fiber-optic cable)

EDIT:

Wouldn't hurt to specify which model Roamio you're talking about, either.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:54 PM   #3
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunste24 View Post
Tivo says that one cannot connect a Roamio to the coax input of a TV.
But there seem to be a cable available to run the HDMI to coax input.
Also Etekcity seems to have some boxes that convert HDMI to coax.
Has anyone made such a connection?
Or is this a lost cause?
Tivo people are very sparse with information.
Is it that you have a very old TV without HDMI inputs and need to get it connected to the Roamio? Unless it is really, really old, it should at least have composite inputs and you will have to use those. Otherwise, I believe you need a new TV. Or maybe there is something that would convert HDMI to coax, but I still think you ought to bite the bullet and buy an HD TV. You won't be sorry you did.
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 10:13 PM   #4
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 517
Unless Im totally confused about what you're looking for:

If we're talking a base Roamio, you could buy the breakout cables, then an RF modulator. Google it, theres a million of them out there, ranging from $5 to well, a lot.

The fancier two models, just connect the modulator to the composite and audio outputs.

... connect the output of the modulator to the coax in on the tv.... and stand back. Its probably going to be fairly ugly/blurry, but it should work.


Seems crazy to me to spend the money for the dvr and then spend more money to hook it up to some ancient tv, but there it is.
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |