TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2013, 09:43 PM   #1
WacoJohn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Tivo Box from Internet Provider

My device:

DVR 0AE5
746-0001-9098-0AE5
Grande Premiere 320hr (Internet and Tivo box provider)

Objective:
Xfer selected files from PC to Tivo.

According to Grande, I cannot do that. According to TIVO, I can if I purchase 'Home Network" with Desktop PLUS for $99.

However ... I just NOW found this:

Quote:
If you have downloaded videos from the Internet in any of the following formats, you can use TiVo Desktop Plus software for the PC to transfer them to your network-connected TiVoŽ box to view them on your TV:

Windows Media Video (.wmv)
QuickTime Movie (.mov)
MPEG-4/H.264 (.mp4, .m4v, .mp4v)
MPEG-2 (.mpg, .mpeg, .mpe, .mp2, .mp2v, .mpv2)
DivX or Xvid (.avi, .divx, encoded with the DivX codec, version 4 or higher, or with the Xvid codec. No other video formats are supported within .AVI files.)
Desktop can also recognize additional types of video, such as .mkv, based on other software installed on your system.
which, at this time is $15.

Thing is .. will either of these options work with a Tivo Box provided from a 'provider' ... i.e. Grande???

Thanks, anyone .... in advance.

Edit: Grande Customer Service could not answer the question. Brilliant.

Last edited by WacoJohn : 11-20-2013 at 09:46 PM. Reason: more info
WacoJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:59 AM   #2
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 631
Install PyTiVo and try it for free
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 09:05 AM   #3
WacoJohn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiranda View Post
Install PyTiVo and try it for free
Very well may do just that. Thank you.

Would prefer a $15 solution through Tivo Desktop Plus ... if it will work.
WacoJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 01:19 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Something else you could try is to install the free version of Desktop

http://assets.tivo.com/assets/exe/ti...sktop2.8.3.exe

and then install the patch

http://www.tivo.com/tivo-assets/exe/...atch-setup.exe

that solves the "expired cookie" problem from last February, and then put some of those files on the PC which you want on the TiVo into the My TiVo Recordings folder which the installation of 2.8.3 will create, and then see if the TiVo can see anything inside the folder at the bottom of your Now Playing List that will have the name of the PC.

It'll have the name of the PC, but it's really just the MTR folder on that PC.

Supposedly the free version of Desktop and Windows 8 aren't compatible, but I think that's just a matter of Windows 8 not having the software (which is from a 3rd party which got paid for it by Microsoft up through Windows 7 but not anymore) to let you use Windows Media Player to watch .tivo files on the PC, but your goal here isn't to watch them on the PC, so that shouldn't be an immediate problem or interfere in the "can I see them in my NPL" experiment.

If you can see them on the TiVo, try transferring one to the TiVo by telling the TiVo to transfer it--i.e., "pull" it to the TiVo, and if it does, try playing it on the TiVo.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:26 PM   #5
WacoJohn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Well, .. here is what I have learned. Tivo Desktop will NOT put to the Tivo. It will only GET. Tivo Desktop PLUS ($15 from Tivo website as of 11/21/13) does. I have been putting .mpg files and watching them on the Tivo/TV ever since. Plus works on Tivo Boxes whether they are provided directly from Tivo or from a 3rd party provider.

Thank you all for your help. Much appreciated.
WacoJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 09:52 PM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by WacoJohn View Post
Well, .. here is what I have learned. Tivo Desktop will NOT put to the Tivo. It will only GET. Tivo Desktop PLUS ($15 from Tivo website as of 11/21/13) does. I have been putting .mpg files and watching them on the Tivo/TV ever since. Plus works on Tivo Boxes whether they are provided directly from Tivo or from a 3rd party provider.

Thank you all for your help. Much appreciated.
Did you try it the way I suggested with the free version to see if putting those other files that don't end in .tivo into the MTR folder were visible on the TiVo?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 10:59 PM   #7
WacoJohn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Did you try it the way I suggested with the free version to see if putting those other files that don't end in .tivo into the MTR folder were visible on the TiVo?
Since I upgraded to +, I can't remember exactly how the free refused, but whatever it was, it would not xfer anything. I was told by the provider's support, ... can NOT put to the box (with free at least). Went to Tivo and they said with + it will. Since then, I have only tried .mpg.

I put an mp4 in MTR folder, and + is telling me it cannot be xfr'd and might be copy protected ... but it looks to me like it is xferring. TV screen says it is transferring ... shows Duration, but seems to be perpetually xferring.

Going to abort xfer .... convert mp4 to mpg and see what happens. Will come back here and let you know.

EDIT:
MP4 would not xfer because drive was full (I am kinda new to this). It's too late for me to continue. If anyone needs more info, reply ... otherwise, I consider this thread resolved. Thank you all again.

Last edited by WacoJohn : 11-22-2013 at 12:37 AM.
WacoJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |