TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-23-2015, 11:54 AM   #1
heisman6183
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Mini setup router and switch

I'm interested in getting a mini but I don't want to buy a MoCa adapter and would rather use ethernet. My question is if I have one lead going from the router directly to the mini, and then another lead going first to a switch, then to the Roamio (base model, 4 tuner, using only OTA) will that setup work, or do both devices need to be directly connected to the same router (or same switch). Thanks!
heisman6183 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 12:02 PM   #2
sydnius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13
A switch shouldn't be at issue as long as your network can handle the traffic. An ideal situation would be the mini and the Roamio on the same switch, so that traffic travelling to the mini would be isolated from the network. In practice, the bandwidth requirements are minimal with respect to a 100 Mbps network.
sydnius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.