TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2014, 05:12 PM   #1
bbb3o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Fast forward jump back

I know this has been asked before, but I'm going to try one more time.

Is there any way to adjust the The Offset and Delay control for Fast-Forward overshoot correction? (i.e., how far back the program jumps after you finish fast-forwarding) Mine currently jumps back about 15 seconds (too far!) when fast forwarding 3X speed.

I've looked at the instructions at tivo.drosoph.com, but can't make heads or tails out of it. I've had a lot of experience using kickstart codes and programing remotes in multiple TiVo setups, etc., but I don't know what the hell this guy is describing for the "E-E-FastForward" feature.

Any help would be appreciated.

TiVo Premiere 4
bbb3o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 05:15 PM   #2
sushikitten
Exhausted mama
 
sushikitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DC-ish Suburbia
Posts: 25,521
I only use FFx2 since I've honed my skill with that and get it pretty much dead on.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sushikitten is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 05:43 PM   #3
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,875
If you press pause then play instead of just play to stop FF then there will be no jump back.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 07:02 PM   #4
bbb3o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
@sushikitten
The overshoot and bounce back are less with FFx2, but it's 20 seconds to FF at 2X vs. 5 seconds to FF at 3X. So it's more time consuming overall.

@moyekj
Pressing pause doesn't help, because I would be pressing pause as soon as I see the show starting again. I would then need to rewind a second or two to get to the 'actual' beginning of the show's resumption. (and I'd probably overshoot that by a tad…)

It really seems to me that the FF Offset and Delay timing has changed over various TiVo software updates. I've always used FF 3X since my first TiVo 2. Seems like it get's worse and worse.
I just hate having to visually watch my program FF a full minute into the show, just so I can hit the play button to jump back to the start of resumed play.

I wish I could understand the instructions at drosph.com. Just terrible instructions.
bbb3o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 07:32 PM   #5
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,566
I believe those instructions are out of date and only the Series 1 works with it having the backdoors enabled. No backdoors since Series 2.
__________________
Series 2 (Retired, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 08:54 PM   #6
bbb3o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
I believe those instructions are out of date and only the Series 1 works with it having the backdoors enabled. No backdoors since Series 2.
It appeared that something like that might be the case; but I couldn't tell. I don't understand why the spread sheet lists the later models

Thanks for input.
bbb3o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 09:03 PM   #7
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbb3o View Post
@sushikitten
It really seems to me that the FF Offset and Delay timing has changed over various TiVo software updates. I've always used FF 3X since my first TiVo 2. Seems like it get's worse and worse.
It's really nothing to do with software updates. Series 2 and earlier TiVos made their own encodings from analog signals so would always have consistent encoding no matter what the source. Consistent encoding => consistent FF/REW behavior. Starting with series 3 units they record the digital signals encoded elsewhere and have no control over GOP length among other things that will affect how FF/REW behaves. So for series 3 and later units recording digital cable it's inevitable you're going to have inconsistent FF/REW behavior that varies from channel to channel.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 01:28 PM   #8
bbb3o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
It's really nothing to do with software updates. Series 2 and earlier TiVos made their own encodings from analog signals so would always have consistent encoding no matter what the source. Consistent encoding => consistent FF/REW behavior. Starting with series 3 units they record the digital signals encoded elsewhere and have no control over GOP length among other things that will affect how FF/REW behaves. So for series 3 and later units recording digital cable it's inevitable you're going to have inconsistent FF/REW behavior that varies from channel to channel.
Very interesting.
I guess that might explain why Offset and Delay control settings don't seem to apply to the later units in those instructions.

Thanks.
bbb3o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 01:48 PM   #9
gigaguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 101
I agree, these settings could be much better. My least fav operating feature of TiVo. None of the ff modes are good except 30sec skip is useful.
My previous Sony Dhgxxx DVR made in 2005, had amazing settings you could adjust for all this. I guess this know how was been lost after these 8 years of tech advances.

Last edited by gigaguy : 01-20-2014 at 02:52 PM.
gigaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 03:59 PM   #10
sar840t2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbb3o View Post
…It really seems to me that the FF Offset and Delay timing has changed over various TiVo software updates. I've always used FF 3X since my first TiVo 2. Seems like it get's worse and worse..
It's also been my impression lately that ending the fastest FF speed causes the TiVo to jump back too far, but like other responders have said it could be beyond the control of the TiVo.

I've also noticed what appears to be extremely sluggish rewinding (granted on the slowest speed) on *some* recordings, but again that's at the mercy of how the stream was encoded.
sar840t2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 03:46 PM   #11
bbb3o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by sar840t2 View Post
It's also been my impression lately that ending the fastest FF speed causes the TiVo to jump back too far, but like other responders have said it could be beyond the control of the TiVo.

I've also noticed what appears to be extremely sluggish rewinding (granted on the slowest speed) on *some* recordings, but again that's at the mercy of how the stream was encoded.
Yeah, rewind has always been much slower than fast forward. But doesn't really bother me.
I just don't like how far "into" the program I have let FF go before hitting the "Play/Resume" button. I'm very good at it; and I usually land within a second or two of the beginning of the program's resumption. I just hate having to watch such a large fast motion "preview" before restarting Play.
bbb3o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 09:43 PM   #12
MHunter1
TiVo Bug Hunter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 186
Press Pause then Replay

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbb3o View Post
Pressing pause doesn't help. I would then need to rewind a second or two to get to the actual beginning of the show's resumption.
Try experimenting with pressing Pause-Replay to resume from fast-forward. If you have a universal remote you could program a conveniently located button to perform this multiple-step process with one press once you've found the sweet spot.
MHunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |