TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-12-2015, 07:09 PM   #1
penlandc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Tivo Roamio Sound

Okay, I am running through a samsung blu-ray sound. When I go to the menu the sound goes away for a few seconds then comes back. I turned off the dolby sound, but does that matter if I want it to run surround when playing movies through VUDU?

penlandc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 08:18 PM   #2
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by penlandc View Post
Okay, I am running through a samsung blu-ray sound. When I go to the menu the sound goes away for a few seconds then comes back. I turned off the dolby sound, but does that matter if I want it to run surround when playing movies through VUDU?
It matters. You won't get native Dolby Digital 5.1 from VUDU (or anything else running thru TiVo) if you have the TiVo set to output PCM. Your Samsung device may up-convert the 2 channel stereo it gets to 5.1 via Dolby Pro Logic processing.

It's too bad TiVo can't pass 5.1 PCM.

mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 08:29 PM   #3
penlandc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
What if I went from Tivo > hdmi > TV > optical from TV > Bly-ray....

Other than that...what else will kill the lag

penlandc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 05:27 PM   #4
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by penlandc View Post
What if I went from Tivo > hdmi > TV > optical from TV > Bly-ray....

Other than that...what else will kill the lag
That will still result in 2 channel stereo sound leaving the TiVo. Once something gets down-converted to 2 channel stereo, you can't up-convert it to true Dolby Digital. The best you can do is apply Pro Logic processing. (Which may be fine for your purposes... it's still "surround sound", just not discrete.)

I'm not aware of anything else you can do. I experience the same thing with my AVR. It only cuts out for about 1 second for me.

mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.
Page generated in 0.04504991 seconds (66.49% PHP - 33.51% MySQL) with 18 queries