TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 01-07-2015, 09:59 PM   #1
tivotvaddict
Creatively Challenge
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 909
HBO GO options

What are my options for getting HBO GO given that it isn't available on the Roamio? Should I look at something like a ROKU that would plug right into my TV? Something else?

tta

__________________
Are they taping this? -April, in the Diary Room, on BB6
tivotvaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 10:14 PM   #2
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivotvaddict View Post
What are my options for getting HBO GO given that it isn't available on the Roamio? Should I look at something like a ROKU that would plug right into my TV? Something else?

tta
-Comcast cable's on-demand app
-some smart tv's (samsung, not sure what else offhand)
-Apple tv
-Roku
-Amazon Fire tv/ Fire stick
-Chromecast
-xbox 360
-PS3
-xbox one
-Ios devices
-Android devices

__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 10:29 PM   #3
tivotvaddict
Creatively Challenge
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 909
Lots of options! Let's see ...

- Comcast cable's on-demand app - don't have Comcast
- some smart tv's (samsung, not sure what else offhand) - my tv is not a smart tv
-Apple tv - Is that a literal tv? Or a usb/hdmi kind of connection?
-Roku
-Amazon Fire tv/ Fire stick
-Chromecast Is that another stick/usb/hdmi kind of thing?
-xbox 360
-PS3
-xbox one
-Ios devices - So I have HBO GO on my iPad, but how do I get that on the tv?
- Android devices - No Android

__________________
Are they taping this? -April, in the Diary Room, on BB6
tivotvaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 10:39 PM   #4
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 18,108
What cable/satellite company do you have? If you don't currently have a cable/sat company, you CURRENTLY can't get HBO Go.

mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 10:49 PM   #5
tivotvaddict
Creatively Challenge
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 909
I do have a cable company and HBO through them. I want to start watching The Wire from the beginning.

__________________
Are they taping this? -April, in the Diary Room, on BB6
tivotvaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 10:55 PM   #6
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivotvaddict View Post
I do have a cable company and HBO through them. I want to start watching The Wire from the beginning.
Amazon Prime actually has The Wire, so if you have an Amazon Prime account, you could watch that on the TiVo Amazon app, though I think Amazon only has it in SD.

If you don't already have a lot of purchased video content on iTunes, then I would recommend getting a Roku.

tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 04:19 AM   #7
ustavio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 133
I watch HBO Go by connecting my laptop to the Ethernet port on the Roamio and to my television via HDMI. Works great.

ustavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 10:46 AM   #8
dalabera
Registered User
 
dalabera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ustavio View Post
I watch HBO Go by connecting my laptop to the Ethernet port on the Roamio and to my television via HDMI. Works great.
Do you have your roamio using wireless? So if you connect our laptop to the Ethernet port you get internet?

dalabera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 10:49 AM   #9
wscottcross
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalabera View Post
Do you have your roamio using wireless? So if you connect our laptop to the Ethernet port you get internet?
That would mean the Roamio is bridging the connections. Interesting...

wscottcross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 11:07 AM   #10
alleybj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: atlanta, ga usa
Posts: 135
-Apple tv - Is that a literal tv? Or a usb/hdmi kind of connection?

It's a tiny box you hook up to your tv with hdmi; no overall subscriptions or fees, but individual apps, like HBOGo, may require a cable subscription

alleybj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 12:58 PM   #11
Ashton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivotvaddict View Post
I do have a cable company and HBO through them. I want to start watching The Wire from the beginning.
If your goal is to watch The Wire on your TV and you have cable, can't you utilize on demand programming? In other words, is your only option via HBO Go?

I only utilize HBO Go when I'm outside my home. When I'm home, I simply watch non-live HBO via TiVo or the cable company's on demand programming.

Ashton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 01:34 PM   #12
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 285
some ISP offer a standalone HBO Go sub

spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 02:21 PM   #13
tivotvaddict
Creatively Challenge
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by alleybj View Post
-Apple tv - Is that a literal tv? Or a usb/hdmi kind of connection?

It's a tiny box you hook up to your tv with hdmi; no overall subscriptions or fees, but individual apps, like HBOGo, may require a cable subscription
Thank you alleybj - that makes it an option!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashton View Post
If your goal is to watch The Wire on your TV and you have cable, can't you utilize on demand programming? In other words, is your only option via HBO Go?

I only utilize HBO Go when I'm outside my home. When I'm home, I simply watch non-live HBO via TiVo or the cable company's on demand programming.
Both TiVo and my cable CSRs said on-demand doesn't work with TiVo. Perhaps I misunderstood? If so, that would be great!

tta

__________________
Are they taping this? -April, in the Diary Room, on BB6
tivotvaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 02:23 PM   #14
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivotvaddict View Post
Both TiVo and my cable CSRs said on-demand doesn't work with TiVo. Perhaps I misunderstood? If so, that would be great!

tta
Only Comcast has an on demand app that works with TiVo

__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 05:54 PM   #15
ustavio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalabera View Post
Do you have your roamio using wireless? So if you connect our laptop to the Ethernet port you get internet?
I am not using wireless but I do have the Roamio connected via MoCA. I then connect my laptop via ethernet to the Roamio ethernet port on back. HDMI from laptop to HDMI on television is a direct link. One can, as I have also done, connect the Roamio ethernet port to an ethernet splitter/hub/switch (whatever it's called) then connect from there to the, computer, television, Blu ray, or anything else with an ethernet port. Whatever displays on your computer screen will display on the television. You can tweak the display with Roamio, computer display or television display settings depending on which OS your computer has and what your television will allow. I have also cloned the display so that when I am using the television as a PC display, there is not an annoying duplicate on the laptop, just a blank screen.

Yes, I have internet access connected this way. I use a wireless keyboard and mouse to navigate around. It's really quite nice. In addition to HBO Go and other premium "Go" channels, I can watch anything that I would ordinarily watch on my laptop, access the "free" Spotify app, browse the internet etc. on my 50 inch Vizio screen. When I want to take the laptop somewhere, I just unplug the ethernet, HDMI, power supply and wireless keyboard/mouse and off I go.

ustavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 03:58 PM   #16
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 449
To watch HBOgo on your TV why would you bother hooking up the laptop to the Tivo? Just use your wireless router for the internet, your laptop is hooked up to HDMI anyway. The laptop doesnt have wireless or you dont have a wireless router?

__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 09:11 PM   #17
SicEm08
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Stafford,TX
Posts: 3
To get the most bang for your buck, I would say go with the Fire TV Stick, but wait until you can get it on sale. I picked mine up from BB for about $25 a few weeks back. Keep in mind that HBO Go is not available yet, but is still listed as coming soon for this device. I've had experience with Roku, Chromecast, and the Apple TV.

Here's what I like about it: It's small, has a remote unlike the Chromecast (works over bluetooth so it doesn't require line of site), it's cheap, and has a nice interface. As an added bonus it is also capable of loading XBMC for some extra content.

SicEm08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2015, 03:09 AM   #18
ustavio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurbano View Post
To watch HBOgo on your TV why would you bother hooking up the laptop to the Tivo? Just use your wireless router for the internet, your laptop is hooked up to HDMI anyway. The laptop doesnt have wireless or you dont have a wireless router?
Your suggestion is certainly a viable option and one I can and have used. However, I have found in my particular situation wireless can sometimes be fickle. Using the wired Ethernet option gives me a faster, more stable connection.

ustavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2015, 12:11 PM   #19
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by SicEm08 View Post
To get the most bang for your buck, I would say go with the Fire TV Stick, .........

..............As an added bonus it is also capable of loading XBMC for some extra content.
It can also sideload the TiVo Android app and be used as a pseudo "TiVo Mini".

__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 03:17 PM   #20
nycityuser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
It can also sideload the TiVo Android app and be used as a pseudo "TiVo Mini".
What, what, what? Tell me more. You mean with the Fire TV Stick I can use the TiVo app to watch on a television instead of on a tablet/phone?

Currently I use the TiVo app to watch on an iPad or download to it. I use Slingbox for watching on a TV via a Roku. I like the controls better on the TiVo app but prefer watching on a large screen if possible. It sounds like the Fire TV Stick allows for both.

nycityuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 03:31 PM   #21
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,223
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by nycityuser View Post
What, what, what? Tell me more. You mean with the Fire TV Stick I can use the TiVo app to watch on a television instead of on a tablet/phone?

Currently I use the TiVo app to watch on an iPad or download to it. I use Slingbox for watching on a TV via a Roku. I like the controls better on the TiVo app but prefer watching on a large screen if possible. It sounds like the Fire TV Stick allows for both.
Yes, you can read all about it here:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...php?p=10290447

__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 04:06 PM   #22
nycityuser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
Yes, you can read all about it here:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...php?p=10290447
Thanks. Not as straight-forward as I thought and too much work for me. But TiVo reports at CES that they are moving towards a "more portable TiVo experience for Chromecast and Roku devices." I'm guessing that means I'd be able to use the TiVo app on a Roku when this is accomplished.

nycityuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 12:41 AM   #23
tivotvaddict
Creatively Challenge
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 909
UPDATE

Based on this great advice I narrowed it down to the AppleTV and the Roku 3. Picked up the AppleTV today and dagnabbit my (**^%*O&*P(*(^&%% cable company doesn't support HBOGO on the AppleTV. I get HBOGO but only on my computer. wtf.

Time to consider a move to AT&T U-verse.

tta

__________________
Are they taping this? -April, in the Diary Room, on BB6
tivotvaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 01:16 AM   #24
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivotvaddict View Post
UPDATE

Based on this great advice I narrowed it down to the AppleTV and the Roku 3. Picked up the AppleTV today and dagnabbit my (**^%*O&*P(*(^&%% cable company doesn't support HBOGO on the AppleTV. I get HBOGO but only on my computer. wtf.

Time to consider a move to AT&T U-verse.

tta
U-verse is a bad idea.

Do they support it on Roku? The Roku 3 is better than the Apple TV anyways, unless you are already neck deep into the Apple ecosystem with lots of purchased iTunes content.

If all they support is the HBOGO on PCs, then you do still have the option of a Chromecast. It's cheap (only $30) and Chromecast support is built into the Chrome browser and the HBOGO website, so if you can log into the HBOGO website on a PC, you can use a Chromecast to stream HBOGO content directly to your TV. I think that's going to be your best solution.


Last edited by tarheelblue32; 01-13-2015 at 01:33 AM..
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 12:45 PM   #25
ncted
A leaf on the wind
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivotvaddict View Post
UPDATE

Based on this great advice I narrowed it down to the AppleTV and the Roku 3. Picked up the AppleTV today and dagnabbit my (**^%*O&*P(*(^&%% cable company doesn't support HBOGO on the AppleTV. I get HBOGO but only on my computer. wtf.

Time to consider a move to AT&T U-verse.

tta
Who is your provider?

You can what devices are supported by them here:

http://www.hbogo.com/#devices/

__________________
Roamio OTA with 2TB drive and 1 Mini
ncted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:16 AM   #26
tivotvaddict
Creatively Challenge
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 909
tarheel, thanks for the info about Chromecast and letting me know that I can access through the web. I'm switching tv's and should be able to use the web interface that way. I'll update once it arrives next week.

ncted, HBO GO is on the device, but I can't log in using my cable subscription through that device.


tta

__________________
Are they taping this? -April, in the Diary Room, on BB6
tivotvaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 11:45 AM   #27
ncted
A leaf on the wind
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivotvaddict View Post
tarheel, thanks for the info about Chromecast and letting me know that I can access through the web. I'm switching tv's and should be able to use the web interface that way. I'll update once it arrives next week.

ncted, HBO GO is on the device, but I can't log in using my cable subscription through that device.


tta
Understood. The link I provided also showed what devices each pay TV provider supported. You have to click on "See what devices are accessible through your provider." I was just trying to help you avoid getting another unsupported device. Best of luck.

__________________
Roamio OTA with 2TB drive and 1 Mini
ncted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 01:41 PM   #28
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post

Amazon Prime actually has The Wire, so if you have an Amazon Prime account, you could watch that on the TiVo Amazon app, though I think Amazon only has it in SD.
Amazon has all the remastered episodes in HD now. They look awesome!

__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 06:00 PM   #29
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 4,320
http://www.hbogo.com/#devices/

__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 11:12 PM   #30
tivotvaddict
Creatively Challenge
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncted View Post
Understood. The link I provided also showed what devices each pay TV provider supported. You have to click on "See what devices are accessible through your provider." I was just trying to help you avoid getting another unsupported device. Best of luck.
Oh! I see that now. ::face palm :: Thank you very much!

tta

__________________
Are they taping this? -April, in the Diary Room, on BB6
tivotvaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.
Page generated in 0.14050293 seconds (88.41% PHP - 11.59% MySQL) with 18 queries