TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-16-2015, 08:48 AM   #1
JANNINO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 58
Any Issues with Multiple Roamios and Streaming

I currently have 1 Roamio Pro and 5 Tivo Premieres - all ethernet hard wired to my home network (Verizon router with a multiswitch), Verizon cablecards, and use the Roamio for streaming. Everything works fine.

One of the Premieres just died and I want to replace it. I am looking to purchase another Roamio (don't want a Mini as I like the multi-tuner function on each TV) but I an concerned about having issues with multiple Roamios, particularly with streaming.

Are there any known issues with multiple Roamios I need to be concerned with because if so, do I need to look for a new Premiere instead which there are not many left out there.

Thanks for the help in advance.

JANNINO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 09:13 AM   #2
MrDell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 76
If you are concerned with having a conflict with two streaming Roamios, you can consider getting the base Roamio. I know that one doesn't have streaming built in.

MrDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 09:16 AM   #3
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,468
There won't be a problem. When streaming is first set up in the app, it'll look for streaming devices and ask you to pick one.

BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 09:33 AM   #4
rsnaider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,684
I have 2 and when you use the App in my case iOS it asks which box I want to pair with.

No conflicts or issues to worry about.

__________________
Ron

TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Pro - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Bolt - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier XL
TiVo Mini
rsnaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 06:27 PM   #5
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 9,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNINO View Post
I currently have 1 Roamio Pro and 5 Tivo Premieres - all ethernet hard wired to my home network (Verizon router with a multiswitch), Verizon cablecards, and use the Roamio for streaming. Everything works fine.

One of the Premieres just died and I want to replace it. I am looking to purchase another Roamio (don't want a Mini as I like the multi-tuner function on each TV) but I an concerned about having issues with multiple Roamios, particularly with streaming.

Are there any known issues with multiple Roamios I need to be concerned with because if so, do I need to look for a new Premiere instead which there are not many left out there.

Thanks for the help in advance.
Short answer, no problem.

I have 2 Roamios, a Premiere and an older S3. They play together nicely. Of course, different units have different abilities, but as long as you understand that, they really do work well together.

__________________
"Happiness is not about doing, it’s about being." - R Branson
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.
Page generated in 0.12829089 seconds (49.67% PHP - 50.33% MySQL) with 18 queries