TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.80 average.
Old 11-05-2013, 07:02 PM   #31
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,527
To me I only need the addition of IR learning, so I would consider buying it in $30-40 range but nothing more than that. What I'm doing right now is occasionally using my old S3 remote with 1-2 switch + IR learning, but of course it's missing those stupid A-D buttons which I rarely use, but sometimes are needed. But of course that's IR only which can be incovenient, but necessary if I need to switch inputs on the TV. I have the Roamio remote handy which I use most of the time since RF works from under the bed covers.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by moyekj : 11-05-2013 at 07:07 PM.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:14 PM   #32
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYHeel View Post
By the way, the current Roamio remote can be set so that the TV Power button can power on both your TV and an AV Receiver. I'm sure the same thing applies to a soundbar as well. Just program the TV's power first and then program the AV receiver power afterwards using the same methodology and the code you used when programming the volume and mute.
I must be slow.....how do you do this with the Roamio remote?

I pressed the TV power and tivo buttons and programmed my Samsung tv.
I then pressed he mute and tivo and programmed my Yamaha receiver.

What do I do now?

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:16 PM   #33
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
I must be slow.....how do you do this with the Roamio remote?

I pressed the TV power and tivo buttons and programmed my Samsung tv.
I then pressed he mute and tivo and programmed my Yamaha receiver.

What do I do now?

-Kevin
Use TiVo + Power and enter the Yamaha code. If you notice all the TV codes start with 0 and all the AV codes start with 1, the remote allows one of each to be assigned to the power button.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:17 PM   #34
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
To me I only need the addition of IR learning, so I would consider buying it in $30-40 range but nothing more than that. What I'm doing right now is occasionally using my old S3 remote with 1-2 switch + IR learning, but of course it's missing those stupid A-D buttons which I rarely use, but sometimes are needed. But of course that's IR only which can be incovenient, but necessary if I need to switch inputs on the TV. I have the Roamio remote handy which I use most of the time since RF works from under the bed covers.
$30-$40 is probably a bit low. I'm betting it's in the $50-$60 range, minimum.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:30 PM   #35
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Use TiVo + Power and enter the Yamaha code. If you notice all the TV codes start with 0 and all the AV codes start with 1, the remote allows one of each to be assigned to the power button.
Thanks......isn't working so I guess my receiver must have a unique power toggle.

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:32 PM   #36
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Thanks......isn't working so I guess my receiver must have a unique power toggle.

-Kevin
You can try the other codes listed for your brand. The code you enter for power does not have to be the same one you use for volume.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:39 PM   #37
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
$30-$40 is probably a bit low. I'm betting it's in the $50-$60 range, minimum.
Agreed, which is beyond the $30-40 range I'd be willing to pay, so I probably will never get one.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:39 PM   #38
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
You can try the other codes listed for your brand. The code you enter for power does not have to be the same one you use for volume.
That's awesome...thank you. It worked!

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 08:35 PM   #39
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,409
The Roamio replacement remote is $29.99 so I could see $59.99, but then again I thought there was no way the Roamio Pro would be $599.99.

If it is $59.99, Amazon will hopefully have sales around $34 again.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:26 PM   #40
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
So basically it's the current Roamio remote + IR learning + backlight + keyboard
Plus smaller and easier to operate + probably a dongle for non-Roamio + longer RF range + nicer non-rubber keys
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:29 PM   #41
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
The Roamio replacement remote is $29.99 so I could see $59.99 If it is $59.99, Amazon will hopefully have sales around $34 again.
That is very unlikely. Clearance pricing isn't the same as just discount/normal pricing. My guess will be $60 too, but without much discount on Amazon or similar.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:31 PM   #42
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Agreed, which is beyond the $30-40 range I'd be willing to pay, so I probably will never get one.
Two years ago the slide was going for less than $40. So maybe the new one will drop in price quickly. I got my three slides after the price had dropped.

But with the Roamio remote costing $30 I can't see the new Slide costing less than $60.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:33 PM   #43
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
The Roamio replacement remote is $29.99 so I could see $59.99, but then again I thought there was no way the Roamio Pro would be $599.99.

If it is $59.99, Amazon will hopefully have sales around $34 again.
I don't see list price being less than close to the $90 of the old slide remote. I didn't mind paying that much for the old remote; it's for something I use many times every day. I'm still not sure I'll get the new slide remote though. The Roamio remote is a much better base remote than other old remotes, but the lack of learning ability is a problem for one TV. I've got two old slide remotes to cover that one though.
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 06:09 AM   #44
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,829
I had really hoped the learning function would have added a few more keys. Its the same as the previous learning remotes with only power, input, mute and vol+ -. I need to turn on and off 3 items and use power and input for two of them but while the power button can try to start more than one item, it very often misses one of them and trying again results in one on and the other turning off. Very low WAF. Need a few more buttons that are programmable...just one more would help a lot.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 06:39 AM   #45
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Use TiVo + Power and enter the Yamaha code. If you notice all the TV codes start with 0 and all the AV codes start with 1, the remote allows one of each to be assigned to the power button.
Nice! Thank you.
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:05 AM   #46
HenryFarpolo
Registered User
 
HenryFarpolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Andover Ma
Posts: 191
I would be surprised to see the initial price under $89 which was the early price of the original Slide. They will keep the initial price to capture the early adopters, then drop the price.

Wondering if they will introduce it early enough to get holiday shoppers. Wouldn't mind finding one in my stocking!!!!
HenryFarpolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:11 AM   #47
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,632
I noticed on Amazon that the old Slide is going for ~$160.
I bet that price tanks when the new one is available.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:19 AM   #48
SugarBowl
Roamio Plus
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
I noticed on Amazon that the old Slide is going for ~$160.
I bet that price tanks when the new one is available.
There's one for $80 now...
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 10:00 AM   #49
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,610
Still a far cry from the $40 or less it sold for two years ago.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 10:34 AM   #50
rassi
Registered User
 
rassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 90
Does the original Slide remote work with a Roamio? Do you still have to use the BT dongle with it? We had to put ours in the drawer since we needed both USB ports on our HD and always had problems with a USB hub in the mix.... Would be nice to be able to use that again when we get a Roamio...
rassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 10:56 AM   #51
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,687
Roamio is RF not BT, so it still needs the dongle to support the old slide.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 12:06 PM   #52
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post
That is very unlikely. Clearance pricing isn't the same as just discount/normal pricing. My guess will be $60 too, but without much discount on Amazon or similar.
That wasn't clearance pricing. Amazon's regular price was always about $20 less than retail.

http://camelcamelcamel.com/TiVoSlide...context=browse
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 02:47 PM   #53
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,687
Hmmm... I guess that blog post was way early. Maybe next week.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 08:23 PM   #54
takeagabu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Does anyone remember the tivo beta site that had all the roamio info before it went live on the main tivo site?
takeagabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 08:55 PM   #55
Haywood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
I'm in for 3 if it is $49 or less. Otherwise wait for the price drop.
Haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 05:42 PM   #56
JGC650I
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Remote is now up on Tivo Acessories page, but no pricing or ability to purchase yet.

https://tivo.com/shop/detail/tivoslidepro
JGC650I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 05:47 PM   #57
andyf
Registered User
 
andyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 1,060
Doesn't say if it supports learning functions.
__________________
Andy
andyf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 06:05 PM   #58
swerver
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 182
Can add to cart now, $49.99.
swerver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 06:33 PM   #59
sneagle
Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York area
Posts: 2,055
The page says the remote will work with the mini with a dongle. What is the dongle and how do I order? I did see anything on the site called a dongle. When everyone stops giggling, hopefully there is an answer!
__________________
Former DirecTivo user..left for lack of line of sight for HD
Using Tivo HD x 2 with FIOS using cablecards and
One FIOS DVR with the latest software
sneagle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 06:45 PM   #60
pbubel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 97
Looks like when you buy it they ask you if you are planning to use it with a Tivo Primer/Mini or Romeo. I assume the difference is weather or not the dongle is included. I'd like to know that for sure before ordering.
__________________
Tivo Elite
Tivo Romaio Plus
Tivo Mini
pbubel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |