TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-01-2013, 04:03 PM   #1
SOCATivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: RSM, CA
Posts: 58
Another DTA Question...

Well, 2, really...

This is the text on the TiVo website today:
TiVo Roamio DVRs allow for dynamic tuner allocation, so the tuner is only used when the Mini needs it and is released back to the DVR for use when the TiVo Mini isnít in use. TiVo Premiere DVRs do NOT support dynamic tuner allocation, so any Mini connected to a Premiere is allocated a constantly dedicated tuner and therefore reduces the tuners available for the Premiere DVR.
I thought that DTA was going to include Premiers? (I have an XL4). So, it doesn't, will adding a Mini turn my XL4 permanently into a 3 tuner system?

Next question (same really, just rephrased), if I don't ever want to use my Mini for live TV, will it still turn my XL4 into an XL3?

Thanks,

Confused in CA.
__________________
Keith
SOCATivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 04:25 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,038
The new update for the Premiere line adds DTA.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 04:31 PM   #3
SOCATivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: RSM, CA
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The new update for the Premiere line adds DTA.
So I will not lose a tuner?

(I am so jealous of your NAS!)
__________________
Keith
SOCATivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 04:51 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
No. And you don't "have" to lose a tuner even before the update. In the current software you can turn the tuner allocation off and you simply wont be able to watch live TV on the Mini. You'll still have full access to My Shows and if you really want to watch something "live" you can just start recording it and then watch it from My Shows. (that's the poor man's DTA)
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 05:01 PM   #5
SOCATivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: RSM, CA
Posts: 58
Thanks guys. I think it's time to try it out...
__________________
Keith
SOCATivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoģ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |