TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2013, 06:11 PM   #181
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Nope, not fixed. In the "before" screen shot the description was 4 lines long, in the after it was limited to 3 lines and then truncated with ...

I just tried a show on my Premiere which had a long description and it was 3 lines with ... at the end.
That's just irritating...
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 06:19 PM   #182
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Nope, not fixed. In the "before" screen shot the description was 4 lines long, in the after it was limited to 3 lines and then truncated with ...

I just tried a show on my Premiere which had a long description and it was 3 lines with ... at the end.
****
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 06:29 PM   #183
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
There seems to be plenty of room I wonder why they limited it to 3 lines? Maybe there is some other possible line of data that needs to fit but is not currently being shown?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 06:41 PM   #184
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 256
Well, it looks like maybe the early sign up people were left out? I signed up the the first or second day, I think. No joy. Checked back into the signup page and it says they are already on the list.

So, if they are lost, how long will it take to roll out the update to everyone else, i.e. those that didn't sign up for priority?
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 06:41 PM   #185
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
There seems to be plenty of room I wonder why they limited it to 3 lines? Maybe there is some other possible line of data that needs to fit but is not currently being shown?

Plenty of room depends on what you're watching; live, recorded, or downloaded. Watching live, when show/movie cast is listed, there's only room for one more line. The blank line is below "Press SELECT to explore or record this show" and above "UP NEXT". Maybe they want a space there so it's easier to see "UP NEXT".

By truncating all types, live, recorded, or downloaded, it's consistent.
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 06:47 PM   #186
kherr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 113
I just put my name on the list less than 24 hours ago and when I went this afternoon to force a "phone home" it was already downloading. I guess there's a glitch in the system.
kherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:03 PM   #187
Rob Helmerichs
I am Groot!
 
Rob Helmerichs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 31,864
I'm curious...has the Daylight Saving Time To Do List bug been fixed?

I know it's trivial and meaningless, but it drives the OCD in me crazy this time of year.
__________________
“You know, this badge means something.”
“You made it at Kinko's.”
Rob Helmerichs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:05 PM   #188
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry ghost View Post
Plenty of room depends on what you're watching; live, recorded, or downloaded. Watching live, when show/movie cast is listed, there's only room for one more line. The blank line is below "Press SELECT to explore or record this show" and above "UP NEXT". Maybe they want a space there so it's easier to see "UP NEXT".

By truncating all types, live, recorded, or downloaded, it's consistent.
But this isn't the case on the Roamio. Roamio users aren't seeing this truncation. And by the way it's not consistent when there is no truncation at all with the Xfinity On Demand app.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:20 PM   #189
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 729
I finally got the update after a force connect. Started reboot at 6:51PM, startup music played at 7:09PM. Tried channel surfing and got through 6 channels before getting a "not available" message. Nothing has improved in the cable card breakage that came with the first 20.3.

Just like before, if I go into the cable card "test channels" screen the "not available" channel comes in flawlessly.

The only thing this update did was kill 19 minutes loading.
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:21 PM   #190
lujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Is it a retail TiVo or are you leasing it from RCN or one of TiVo's other cable partners? Only retail TiVo's are eligible for the list.
Yes, it is a retail TiVo.
__________________
lujan
721 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:36 PM   #191
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,539
Finally got "pending restart" following mothership connection an hour ago. Not touching it though and will let it reboot at 2 am
__________________
"You don't know Bierboy like I know Bierboy. He became a lot more amusing after I figured out his sense of humor..." -- Rob Helmerichs

XL4
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:39 PM   #192
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 837
I've tried several times today, still no love from the homeland
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:41 PM   #193
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhites View Post
But this isn't the case on the Roamio. Roamio users aren't seeing this truncation. And by the way it's not consistent when there is no truncation at all with the Xfinity On Demand app.

Does the Roamio not have the blank line above "UP NEXT" or is the font smaller?
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:52 PM   #194
Cheezmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 422
I was one of the early (single box to enter tivo id) signer uppers and it finally download. Lots of recordings during prime time, so I'll wait to restart it.
__________________
Steve Martin
Cheezmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 08:59 PM   #195
dboff01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingpcgeek View Post
Hopefully the no sound after fast forwarding through the live buffer issue has been corrected.
This issue appears to be fixed in the Fall update. Just performed a few tests.

Happy about this one as this is really only Tivo bug that I'm consistently aware of.
dboff01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:38 PM   #196
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCLABB View Post
Well, it looks like maybe the early sign up people were left out? I signed up the the first or second day, I think. No joy. Checked back into the signup page and it says they are already on the list.

So, if they are lost, how long will it take to roll out the update to everyone else, i.e. those that didn't sign up for priority?
I am in this group too. Signed up when the entry block was one field, the sign-up page says they are on already on the list, but no update.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.5c, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:42 PM   #197
achalupa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 24
Pending restart here. Connection at 10am didn't pull it, but did at 8:30pm.
achalupa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:06 PM   #198
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by achalupa View Post
Pending restart here. Connection at 10am didn't pull it, but did at 8:30pm.
Yeah, I had forced a connection (to no avail) not more than an hour or two before it connected on its own at 5:30 and that's when the update downloaded -- on the second connection. Looks like whatever was clogging things up was fixed mid to late afternoon today.
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:14 PM   #199
TIVO_GUY_HERE
I miss the ocean
 
TIVO_GUY_HERE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 5,657
Got both of mine tonight.
TIVO_GUY_HERE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:17 PM   #200
mmf01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 110
Forced connection. Pending restart x2 here.
mmf01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:22 PM   #201
xander777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 66
Apparently I signed up on the low priority list.

No love here.
xander777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:22 PM   #202
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
- Removed "Browse Web Videos" -- you can find web videos in Search, or use the "Web Video Hotlist", AOL.on, or YouTube apps
Wait what? So how do I find e.g. the various CNET podcasts to subscribe to? What if I want to just look through all of the ones that exist and find them that way, instead of by name?

(I *DO* know I can nowadays use Explore this show to find old episodes, which is WAY better than the old interface..)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:33 PM   #203
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by xander777 View Post
Apparently I signed up on the low priority list.

No love here.
Yea I think I got on the "make him wait and drive him crazy list"
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:37 PM   #204
mmf01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 110
This was the world's fastest update. Both boxes updated in like 15 minutes after the reboot. So far, the HDUI does feel much faster once the box settles in.
mmf01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:43 PM   #205
rjrustia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Pending restart here too.
rjrustia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:53 PM   #206
Lars_J
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 115
I'd finally got the update... No notification at all, but when I checked it said version 20.3.7.1a, so it must have updated and rebooted while I was out.
__________________
- Lars
Lars_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 11:09 PM   #207
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
I'm checking into why some folks on the priority list have not received the update. (Sorry!)
We did find 1000 priority sign-ups that got lost in a bit of black hole. (Sorry!) I've been told that the next time those boxes make a connection to the TiVo Service they will download the update.

--Margret
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 11:41 PM   #208
rjrustia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Well, I finally got the update, now I stuck in reboot hell. Preparing update, reboot. Installing update, reboot. SD Almost there.. Reboot, Almost there, reboot. Over and over again. Tried unplugging TiVo and same thing. Anyone have any ideas???

Tried unplugging the Tuning Adapter same thing. Of course Customer Support is closed for the evening.

Last edited by rjrustia : 10-30-2013 at 11:53 PM.
rjrustia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 12:11 AM   #209
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 306
I wish they would fix the v301 error code when i try to use rhapsody,Im getting tired of paying rhapsody to not be able to hear music i like.
celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 12:33 AM   #210
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjrustia View Post
Well, I finally got the update, now I stuck in reboot hell. Preparing update, reboot. Installing update, reboot. SD Almost there.. Reboot, Almost there, reboot. Over and over again. Tried unplugging TiVo and same thing. Anyone have any ideas???

Tried unplugging the Tuning Adapter same thing. Of course Customer Support is closed for the evening.
Are you able to get into a "kickstart 54" and check the disc, or does it just go past all that?
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |