TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2013, 11:50 AM   #391
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by marinrain View Post
Can't see Margaret's email without 10 posts --- and tried Support at Tivo and my reply said the update was not yet available??!!
Her Email address is: margret@tivo.com or margret(at)tivo(dot)com

What info are you looking for maybe someone here can give you an answer.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 12:33 PM   #392
marinrain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Corte Madera, CA, USA
Posts: 9
thank you, I had signed up for Premiere update but haven't received....
marinrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 01:54 PM   #393
johnmsch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
I feel your pain. They removed "Browse Web Videos" on the Roamios from the start. You can go to TiVo's web site and still "browse", at least when the site is working, that is how I setup all my podcasts on my Roamio.
https://www.tivo.com/tivo-tco/go.do?...webvideos.page
Thanks for the link. At least we can browse them on that page, but still wondering why they took that functionality away from us? It was really convenient browsing the list from the TiVo.
johnmsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:14 PM   #394
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,380
So is there anythng I can do to get the update? i signed up on the priority page on the first or second day the page was up. But i still have not received the update on my two tuner Premiere. At least as of last night.

It hasn't been a top priority for me though since I typically use that TiVo to bring cshows with me to my GFs house. But I have been checking the box every day to see if it got the update.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:16 PM   #395
xander777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
So is there anythng I can do to get the update? i signed up on the priority page on the first or second day the page was up. But i still have not received the update on my two tuner Premiere. At least as of last night.
Do what the rest of us have done and send an email to margret@tivo.com with your TSN(s).
xander777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:37 PM   #396
Doit2it
Registered User
 
Doit2it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by xander777 View Post
That's the date you are paid up till.
Mine's different today. I just never noticed it changed so much. So does it just keeps jumping forward month by month if you have Lifetime?
__________________
Doit2it

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Tivo XL4 w/LT :: TiVo HD w/LT & 2TB :: LG 47" & 42" HDTVs
Tivo HD w/LT - Mom :: Series 2 80 - Boxed :: Series 2 40 - Boxed
Doit2it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:56 PM   #397
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
My suggestions were doing really well, and now I noticed today its went down to just 2 pages where theres normally about 3 and a half, and they seem to be slowing down a bit. I rebooted the box to see if that helps any. Other than that, my other issues were not fixed. Still getting some errors now and then when trying to tune channels.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 03:37 PM   #398
Loach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
So is there anythng I can do to get the update? i signed up on the priority page on the first or second day the page was up. But i still have not received the update on my two tuner Premiere. At least as of last night.

It hasn't been a top priority for me though since I typically use that TiVo to bring cshows with me to my GFs house. But I have been checking the box every day to see if it got the update.
I was in the same boat and I emailed Margret yesterday morning. Then I forced a connection last night and it downloaded the update. Looks like they're getting right on the email requests that they receive.
__________________
Roamio Pro (MoCA)
Premiere 4 (MoCA) w/2TB WD20EURS upgrade
2 Minis (MoCA/Ethernet)
Loach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 03:44 PM   #399
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loach View Post
...Looks like they're getting right on the email requests that they receive.
Shouldn't have EVER come to that....
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 03:49 PM   #400
Loach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
Shouldn't have EVER come to that....
I don't disagree. The priority list should have worked, but I'm glad they're helping those of us who got lost in the black hole, even if it is on a clunky case by case basis.
__________________
Roamio Pro (MoCA)
Premiere 4 (MoCA) w/2TB WD20EURS upgrade
2 Minis (MoCA/Ethernet)
Loach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 11:22 PM   #401
randyb359
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
Shouldn't have EVER come to that....
it shouldn't but everybody makes mistakes.
randyb359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:05 AM   #402
chiguy50
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyb359 View Post
it shouldn't but everybody makes mistakes.
No, you're wrong. Some of us are perfcet!!
chiguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:55 AM   #403
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiguy50 View Post
No, you're wrong. Some of us are perfcet!!
Keep telling your self that
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:28 AM   #404
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,347
I *think* that was chiguy50's opint.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:29 AM   #405
dadrepus
Registered User
 
dadrepus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
I just looked at this thread today and signed up now. I know I should be paying more attention to this but the last time I checked I saw Premieres were NOT getting the update and I was so depressed I just didn't bother to come back until I read it on Engadget. How long should it take and what should be the differences so I may tell when it occurs?
dadrepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:12 AM   #406
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyb359 View Post
it shouldn't but everybody makes mistakes.
...not usually affecting 1,000 people....
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 11:00 AM   #407
beejay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
...not usually affecting 1,000 people....
The only way this makes any sense is if some lowly intern is assigned the task of taking the new entries that appear in the "priority" list and manually updating some other system. So when s/he missed 1000 of them, they were going to stay missed until someone checked his work. Of course, they missed many more than 1000 since so many have to send margret a special e-mail to get the update.

If the systems were at all integrated it would seem possible to re-run the "flip the switch" program to update the "distribution" system from the "priority" list.
__________________
S2 - 1077 hours
S2 - 86 hours
S1 - 344 hours
S2DT - 186 hours

"For some people, even 10 TiVo DVRs is not overkill."
TiVoOpsMgr
Director, Svc. Ops

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
beejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 12:50 PM   #408
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
...not usually affecting 1,000 people....
Ehhh... The only problem is that people were not getting an update early - not that their units wouldn't get the update at all.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 12:58 PM   #409
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadrepus View Post
I just looked at this thread today and signed up now. I know I should be paying more attention to this but the last time I checked I saw Premieres were NOT getting the update and I was so depressed I just didn't bother to come back until I read it on Engadget. How long should it take and what should be the differences so I may tell when it occurs?
I gather your ads are larger when you hit Pause during playback. That should be a clue.
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 01:11 PM   #410
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,347
I'm still not bothered by the "larger" ads....they don't happen all the time, and, as a matter of fact, not much at all.
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:12 PM   #411
weaver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 230
At least during replay, I will get occasional occurrences of a quick repeat of material, i.e. a second or less will repeat itself during play. I will have to see if it is also happening while watching "live."

This started when I got the update.
weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:21 PM   #412
beejay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 683
I got the update last night. I had signed up for the priority list within a day of it being opened. I did NOT send anyone my TSN saying I didn't get it when the rest of you did.
__________________
S2 - 1077 hours
S2 - 86 hours
S1 - 344 hours
S2DT - 186 hours

"For some people, even 10 TiVo DVRs is not overkill."
TiVoOpsMgr
Director, Svc. Ops

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
beejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 05:44 PM   #413
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Enough time has passed for the general roll out to start happening.
Maybe you just happened to be first on the gen pop list.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:27 PM   #414
SCSIRAID
Registered User
 
SCSIRAID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 2,294
Found a bug in the new software. I have a season pass for 'The Voice'. Since it now is live, I went into the ToDo List and selected an episode and modified it to end 5 minutes late. Instead of the item in the ToDo list simply extending its scheduled time, my Premiere XL4 created a NEW/Duplicate entry with no title that added the 5 minutes. This resulted in two copies of the show with one that looks normal that was not extended plus a second copy with no title that is 5 minutes longer.... Its 100% repeatable.
SCSIRAID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:31 PM   #415
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCSIRAID View Post
Found a bug in the new software. I have a season pass for 'The Voice'. Since it now is live, I went into the ToDo List and selected an episode and modified it to end 5 minutes late. Instead of the item in the ToDo list simply extending its scheduled time, my Premiere XL4 created a NEW/Duplicate entry with no title that added the 5 minutes. This resulted in two copies of the show with one that looks normal that was not extended plus a second copy with no title that is 5 minutes longer.... Its 100% repeatable.
yes, this has happened to me once, exactly as you described. the padded sp recording was listed below the unpadded recording in my shows with "rec:" before the title.
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:31 PM   #416
Rob Helmerichs
I am Groot!
 
Rob Helmerichs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 30,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCSIRAID View Post
Found a bug in the new software. I have a season pass for 'The Voice'. Since it now is live, I went into the ToDo List and selected an episode and modified it to end 5 minutes late. Instead of the item in the ToDo list simply extending its scheduled time, my Premiere XL4 created a NEW/Duplicate entry with no title that added the 5 minutes. This resulted in two copies of the show with one that looks normal that was not extended plus a second copy with no title that is 5 minutes longer.... Its 100% repeatable.
The same thing happened to me, only it was for something that was airing later in the evening (which was going to be delayed because of a sports overrun).
__________________
“This is the moment of truth. Are you my friend, or are you some bloodsucking network vampire?”
“Why do I have to pick one or the other?”
Rob Helmerichs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:42 PM   #417
bbrown9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCSIRAID View Post
Found a bug in the new software. I have a season pass for 'The Voice'. Since it now is live, I went into the ToDo List and selected an episode and modified it to end 5 minutes late. Instead of the item in the ToDo list simply extending its scheduled time, my Premiere XL4 created a NEW/Duplicate entry with no title that added the 5 minutes. This resulted in two copies of the show with one that looks normal that was not extended plus a second copy with no title that is 5 minutes longer.... Its 100% repeatable.
I don't have the update yet, but I saw that happen on my Roamio after the most recent Roamio update.
bbrown9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 10:40 PM   #418
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 234
We've begun updating TiVo Stream boxes to support out-of-home streaming

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
Later today we will begin releasing the Fall Update (20.3.7.1a) to TiVo Premiere boxes.

Here are some of the changes:
- support for out-of-home streaming through a Roamio Plus/Pro in the home (and eventually TiVo Stream, when that update is released next month)
We have started updating TiVo Stream boxes to support out-of-home streaming:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=510974
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 12:56 AM   #419
drweb
TiVo User & Lover
 
drweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: California
Posts: 36
Smile can't get fall update 2013

i've tried connecting 3 or 4 times to the service, no go. Still stuck with 2.1.3 it seems. I'm on the priority list. Any other way to force a download and update?

Best,
DrWeb
__________________
P. Michael McCulley aka DrWeb

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

San Diego, CA
drweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 08:22 AM   #420
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by drweb View Post
i've tried connecting 3 or 4 times to the service, no go. Still stuck with 2.1.3 it seems. I'm on the priority list. Any other way to force a download and update?

Best,
DrWeb
What is the big deal? We'll get it when we get it. It's a matter of days or weeks, not years.
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |