TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2013, 01:31 PM   #1
abdu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 21
Will wifi transfers between TiVO and PC still work if I stopped TiVo service?

I use the TiVO desktop app to transfer videos from my PC to TiVO. I am planning to stop my cable service. Therefore I don't need the TiVo service anymore but would still like to continue transferring the videos.

If I stop the TiVo service, will the desktop still work? I ask because I wanted to make sure that the desktop doesn't talk with the TiVo box to see if my service is active.. or does some kind of similar check?
abdu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:39 PM   #2
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,088
nope

Tivo service required
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 02:23 PM   #3
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Good question. I assume that the answer is "no" simply because Tivo Desktop, kmttg, and pyTivo all require your MAK and/or your Tivo account login info. Maybe there is something else out there that doesn't.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:08 PM   #4
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Good question. I assume that the answer is "no" simply because Tivo Desktop, kmttg, and pyTivo all require your MAK and/or your Tivo account login info. Maybe there is something else out there that doesn't.
There ain't...
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:12 PM   #5
abdu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwees41 View Post
nope

Tivo service required
Well this sucks. Either I have to pay the $12.95/month just to be able to transfer files or find a totally different box/solution.
abdu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:20 PM   #6
abdu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 21
Are there other DVR's which do not depend on a service being active and I can transfer videos to them wirelessly? I don't want a PC based solution. Looking for a box that I can put in a cabinet in the living room.
abdu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:38 PM   #7
replaytv
deadbeat doofus
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,968
I read in a book Tivo about direct connecting a Tivo to another Tivo, by using a crossover ethernet cable, but don't know if that is possible without service, and don't know if that would do you any good.
A Tivo Series 2 DVR/DVD box with lifetime is $40 or so on ebay or craigslist or the thriftstore, so just buy one.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:16 PM   #8
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
You can use a PS3 or XBOX and transfer files over the network to watch them.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:58 AM   #9
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,934
A Western Digital TV Live device would also do what you are asking, along with streaming from various services.

For use as just a media player, Tivo is not cost effective nor really the best solution. Why do you want to get rid of the Tivo? It works great for OTA broadcast tv. I cut the catv cord years ago and actually have added Tivos to our home. 3 now. Works for us.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:54 PM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by abdu View Post
I use the TiVO desktop app to transfer videos from my PC to TiVO. I am planning to stop my cable service. Therefore I don't need the TiVo service anymore but would still like to continue transferring the videos.

If I stop the TiVo service, will the desktop still work? I ask because I wanted to make sure that the desktop doesn't talk with the TiVo box to see if my service is active.. or does some kind of similar check?
Generally the stuff the TiVo does, as well as the license to use the TiVo software (not just Desktop, but the stuff on the TiVo box that's specific to it, that was written by TiVo, that is not Linux and not open source), is all considered part of the TiVo service, and it's the service for which a subscription pays.

What model TiVo do you have?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 02:46 PM   #11
RDaneel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 16
This stinks... I had a S3 box sitting around that I just wired up to the old TV in the basement, hoping to use pyTiVo to transfer shows I recorded on the bedroom Premiere to the basement. I had no idea that a subscription was needed even for internal transfers. That's really too bad!

I have no idea if there is any workaround short of a subscription or something with lifetime service. This is not a critical use (TV in front of the treadmill), so I'm trying to avoid spending any more money...
RDaneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 12:52 AM   #12
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDaneel View Post
This stinks... I had a S3 box sitting around that I just wired up to the old TV in the basement, hoping to use pyTiVo to transfer shows I recorded on the bedroom Premiere to the basement. I had no idea that a subscription was needed even for internal transfers. That's really too bad!

I have no idea if there is any workaround short of a subscription or something with lifetime service. This is not a critical use (TV in front of the treadmill), so I'm trying to avoid spending any more money...
How long ago did you buy the Premiere?

If in the past year or so, you should have asked them for the $99 lifetime deal on the S3, assuming it had a subscription at the time you could threaten to cancel.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:29 AM   #13
RDaneel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 16
Thanks, Unitron. I did get the lifetime, but that was on my other S3 box, which I sold to fund the Premiere purchase... This box is the "spare." Oh well... maybe I can pawn it off on someone and help it get some use.
RDaneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 06:15 PM   #14
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Good question. I assume that the answer is "no" simply because Tivo Desktop, kmttg, and pyTivo all require your MAK and/or your Tivo account login info. Maybe there is something else out there that doesn't.
To be clear, the main thing that requires the MAK is the TiVo's internal web server, which is the only way to get recordings off an unhacked TiVo. It's not a condition imposed by pyTivo or kmttg.

For transfers from the PC to the TiVo, there is actually a difference between pyTivo and TiVo Desktop: TD encrypts the connection, and requires the MAK to access its files. pyTivo doesn't, and can serve to TiVos with different MAKs from the same instance. But this still won't let you pull videos into an unsubscribed TiVo box, because TiVo Inc. just turns off that capability on the box.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |