TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Suggestion Avenue
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2014, 08:43 AM   #1
ejonesss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
tivo for computer pci and thunderbolt

i think it would be nice to have a pc version of tivo a pci card

http://cetoncorp.com/products/infinitv-4-pcie/ is a cable tuner card that utilizes the standard cable card and connects in the pci slot

it would be nice if tivo could come out with something that also does thunderbolt.

i think with hardware based encryption it could be made secure enough that it could also download amazon video purchases.

the idea would make tivo to go much easier because then the content could be saved directly.
ejonesss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 10:06 AM   #2
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Wasn't Tivo Liquidtv try to do that which is like having a series 2 emulated on your PC? Liquidtv however was a USB based solution, I see them on eBay for time to time, does Tivo allow you to activate them any longer?

Perhaps you could try the PCI tuner with that and see if it work? You can get the complete Liquidtv on eBay fairly cheap, I think there is an auction right now for $19.95 buy it now.....

Try it and let us know if it works!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/151228217533...84.m1423.l2649

Oops... Try this one, no receiver but appears to include the software and remote...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-NERO-LIQ...item4acb24213d
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 01:04 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,225
The problem with PC based solutions is the way the CableCARD rules work. The encryption has to happen at the OS level which means the only people who can really do a Windows DVR are Microsoft. And their DVR, Windows Media Center, is dead. They dismantled the development team and it will be removed from the next major OS update.

Now according to a poster on this forum they do allow 3rd parties to license their encryption stuff, but it's difficult and expensive and still requires that 3rd party to get independent approval from CableLabs. So it's going to be a big undertaking.

Our best (only?) hope for any continued CableCARD compatible DVRs on the PC are the companies that have an interest in selling PC tuner cards. If we see anything at all it'll likely come from Ceton themselves, or maybe Silicon Dust.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:21 PM   #4
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Can you get a "new" Liquidtv subscribed?
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:36 PM   #5
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
I was on the phone with Tivo about a order I placed for some remote controls and asked them if I could add a new Liquidtv to my account, after the rep put me on hold since he didn't know what Liquidtv was, he came back and said that my question raised a few eyebrows as hardly no one knew what that was but he did find out that that they don't allow new subs for that any longer.

So I just even if that pci tuner card worked with Liquidtv, there isn't any Tivo software to make it function.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 12:36 PM   #6
Grakthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 643
I actually bought 2 or 3 liquid TVs back when they fully stopped carrying them because it was like 15 dollars for the box and it came with a tuner and a TiVo remote. I used the tuners with WMC for a while. They worked fine for clearQAM stuff.

The liquidTV interface though was mostly awful.
Grakthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 02:31 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,225
Yeah I played with it once. It was like a crappy knockoff of the UI used on a S2 TiVo. Very limited by today's standards.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |