TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2013, 08:17 PM   #1
lreinstein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 36
Cable signal and snr too strong. Huh?

In the midst of installing my new ROAMIO pro. TiVo service asked me to tell him signal strength and SNR for a few channels. They were 99% and 39 or 40db

He told me to call my cable service and have him weaken the signal... That it is too strong for the TIVO.

CAN anyone explain this? Should I do that?

Thanks

Larry
lreinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:42 PM   #2
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
I don't know if anyone can explain why, but it has come up in the past that too strong a signal can cause problems.

Some people have reported such here, but their signal strengths were 100%, possibly even hotter. It was suggested to those users that they attenuate their signal, which subsequently helped with the problem.

I would say if you don't have any problems, don't worry about it, but keep an eye out.
It won't hurt anything if you try this, you can just undo it. It's really not something the cable company has to do, you can do it yourself if you are concerned about a service charge from the cable co.
You can buy the attenuator, from say Amazon, and install it on the cable going to the Tivo.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 02:15 AM   #3
SNJpage1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 3,164
I had this problem and had to add some lost to the signal with an attenuator. It made a big difference.
__________________
S2 and a Tivo HD
SNJpage1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 07:10 AM   #4
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNJpage1 View Post
I had this problem and had to add some lost to the signal with an attenuator. It made a big difference.
Signal strength of 99 should not be a problem. Are you saying you had this problem with a signal strength less than 100?

SNR=40 dB is unusually high but should be no problem at all if the signal strength is less than 100.

That said, attenuators are so cheap and easy to deploy that ... why not try them?
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 07:51 AM   #5
lreinstein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 36
Thanks.

What symptoms should I be on the lookout for?..

All seems working now ...with one exception!

About half the channels that used to be in HD are now showing in SD? Can this be related?

Or what would cause this?
lreinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 01:31 PM   #6
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,991
Are they really SD, or are they HD channels showing with the wrong aspect ratio? Not sure about Roamio's but there will be a setting for controlling aspect ratio.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 02:36 PM   #7
lreinstein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 36
They are really SD.

Larry
lreinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 03:25 PM   #8
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,991
OK, I see you've started a separate thread on this, so we should continue any further discussion there rather than double-posting:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=510413
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |