TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 10-21-2013, 07:30 PM   #1
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,452
OOH Streaming Countdown

Out-Of-Home Streaming coming soon!
Bierboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:32 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,063


Can't wait to try it.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:35 PM   #3
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 368
Great news!
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:37 PM   #4
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,058
Still wish they offered support for PCs and Android. I know Android support is coming but I haven't heard anything about PC support.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:52 PM   #5
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Nice find.

So this is:

Thursday, October 24, 2013 at 7:00 AM ET.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:54 PM   #6
fungflex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
My work productivity is going to collapse if I can stream Tivo over my work's wifi network...
fungflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 09:11 PM   #7
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,452
Now, if I only had a Roamio....
Bierboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 09:36 PM   #8
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,527
I really hope this opens up to eventually streaming shows to other TiVos off network. When I am stuck at my parents, I would love to be able watch my shows via my TiVo there. It could still transcode with the Stream so it wasn't the full size recording as long as the quality looked good enough.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:09 PM   #9
lickwid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 78
Great find, in time for the weekend's football games.
lickwid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:24 PM   #10
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,870
I am interested to see if it works reliably. Unfortunately, I don't have a lot of access to wifi signals on most days and hotel wifi is so throttled you can barely browse simple web sites.

Just a thought - you may not actually need a Roamio for this to work, but I may be wrong. I think the Stream is doing most of the heavy listing.

We shall see...
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo

Last edited by bradleys : 10-21-2013 at 10:35 PM.
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:25 PM   #11
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
We will see...

You may not actually need a Roamio for this to work, but I may be wrong. I think the Stream is doing most of the heavy listing.

We shall see...
It will work on the Premieres when they get the update later this month I believe.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 11:27 PM   #12
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
I am interested to see if it works reliably. Unfortunately, I don't have a lot of access to wifi signals on most days and hotel wifi is so throttled you can barely browse simple web sites.

Just a thought - you may not actually need a Roamio for this to work, but I may be wrong. I think the Stream is doing most of the heavy listing.

We shall see...
I'm interesting in finding out how much bandwidth it needs and assuming (hoping) the streaming is adaptive how little bandwidth it (or myself based on quality) can tolerate. I have the upstream but download can vary greatly depending on location, especially since I believe it was stated previously this will be wifi only and not 4G LTE enabled.

I think the understanding and expectation from most is that the stream is doing all of the work. I can't see any reason why the standalone stream wouldn't receive an update very soon after this to enable streaming from the Roamio Basic and then shortly thereafter, the Premieres.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 11:36 PM   #13
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,063
The current streams aren't that bad. Best quality is only 2.3Mbps and Standard is 1.4Mbps. I'm sure adaptive streaming will have more levels for various bandwidth conditions, but even Best is below the threshold of most modern broadband.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 12:39 AM   #14
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,097
I was just going to post I noticed OOH information on the sysinfo page when I saw this thread. Anyway, if you visit the stream sysinfo page there's now a "Out-Of-Home" button
http://<streamip>:49152/sysinfo

On that page there is some port forwarding setup (ports 49151 and 49152).
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:29 AM   #15
tivoknucklehead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 624
will compare to my ipad slingbox app
tivoknucklehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 08:27 AM   #16
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
On Android?

I've got several Android tablets and it would be nice if I could use them to stream from my Roamio Pro.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 08:50 AM   #17
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
On Android?

I've got several Android tablets and it would be nice if I could use them to stream from my Roamio Pro.
Early next year for Android is the best estimate.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:44 AM   #18
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 368
Will an updated TiVo app for ios be required?
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:52 AM   #19
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by uw69 View Post
Will an updated TiVo app for ios be required?
I expect that it will be required, yes...
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:56 AM   #20
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
On Android?

I've got several Android tablets and it would be nice if I could use them to stream from my Roamio Pro.
I think I speak for everyone - including TiVo, that it has taken far too long and not having Android is really keeping them from being able to broadly market this to the type of consumer that will really geek out over the tech.

I also think they need to support a new PC version as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
Now, if I only had a Roamio....
Get one!
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 10:15 AM   #21
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
I do not see this being a worthy contender to Slingbox until there is a viewing option for PC/Laptop viewing.
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 10:23 AM   #22
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by uw69 View Post
Will an updated TiVo app for ios be required?
I'm guessing that is what is coming Thursday.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 10:32 AM   #23
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayern_fan View Post
I do not see this being a worthy contender to Slingbox until there is a viewing option for PC/Laptop viewing.
While I agree that PC / Laptop viewing is going to be an important part of this ecosystem, I think it is very important for TiVo to prove they can deliver with this technology.

This is tough tech to do correctly and in a way that is going to be compelling to consumers.

I am sure we will have fans pining for all of the major platforms:
  • Windows 8 Metro App
  • Windows Desktop App
  • Windows Phone App
  • IOS Phone App
  • IOS Tablet App
  • Apple PC App
  • Android Phone App
  • Android Tablet App

Question:

I wonder if people are hoping to use a PC version as a cheaper version of the Mini?
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo

Last edited by bradleys : 10-22-2013 at 10:56 AM.
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:21 AM   #24
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
Anyone else notice in the iOS app that "Watch Now" is now an option when away from your home network? The buttons for watching on TV or on iPhone are greyed out though.
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 12:07 PM   #25
stoli412
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayern_fan View Post
Anyone else notice in the iOS app that "Watch Now" is now an option when away from your home network? The buttons for watching on TV or on iPhone are greyed out though.
It's always been there for me but it gives some sort of message when you're not on your home network.
stoli412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 08:00 PM   #26
Lrscpa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
I was just going to post I noticed OOH information on the sysinfo page when I saw this thread. Anyway, if you visit the stream sysinfo page there's now a "Out-Of-Home" button
http://<streamip>:49152/sysinfo

On that page there is some port forwarding setup (ports 49151 and 49152).
Not seeing any of this. Stream is still running software v. 19.1.2a.01-6 (dtd06/20/13). I've restarted the device, and forced a service call.
__________________

Roamio Pro (Stock) w/Lifetime <Stewie>
TiVo Mini w/Lifetime <Brian>
TiVo Premiere Elite (Stock) w/Lifetime-Sold
TiVo HD w/1TB WD10000CSRTL w/Lifetime-Sold
No More Tuning Adapters!
MoCA
Lrscpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:41 PM   #27
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lrscpa View Post
Not seeing any of this. Stream is still running software v. 19.1.2a.01-6 (dtd06/20/13). I've restarted the device, and forced a service call.
Same for me as well
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:49 PM   #28
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lrscpa View Post
Not seeing any of this. Stream is still running software v. 19.1.2a.01-6 (dtd06/20/13). I've restarted the device, and forced a service call.
This is on my Roamio Pro that has the 20.3.7 software. My guess is the standalone units haven't got a software upgrade yet if that's what you are looking at.
Here's a screenshot:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg ooh_streaming.jpg (32.0 KB, 902 views)
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:12 PM   #29
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,063
Apparently Margret posted on twitter that the standalone Stream wont get OOH streaming for a few more weeks. Probably making this a Roamio only feature for a few weeks to boost sales and reviews.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:53 AM   #30
SugarBowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Apparently Margret posted on twitter that the standalone Stream wont get OOH streaming for a few more weeks. Probably making this a Roamio only feature for a few weeks to boost sales and reviews.

SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |