TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2015, 07:59 AM   #1
captainstabbins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 14
Help Please with issue

I have a series 3 Tivo that started freezing, stuttering and rebooting. I had a 500GB HDD that had some recordings on it that I wanted to keep. I used WinMFS to copy to a 1TB drive. When it was completed the program asked if I would like to expand. I chose yes and I got a message that unable to extend. Not enough partitions. Is there anything that I can do to totally utilize the 1 TB drive space?? I don't want to lose the recordings on the old drive that was dying.

Any help would be appreciated.

__________________
It's a small world, but I would sure hate to paint it....
captainstabbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:09 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainstabbins View Post
I have a series 3 Tivo that started freezing, stuttering and rebooting. I had a 500GB HDD that had some recordings on it that I wanted to keep. I used WinMFS to copy to a 1TB drive. When it was completed the program asked if I would like to expand. I chose yes and I got a message that unable to extend. Not enough partitions. Is there anything that I can do to totally utilize the 1 TB drive space?? I don't want to lose the recordings on the old drive that was dying.

Any help would be appreciated.

If you think the 500GB drive can stand one more go around, re-copy it to the 1TB--it'll just overwrite what's on there now.

Tell it to use a swap size of 1000.

When it finishes copying and offers to expand, tell it no.

Go to

File, Select

and select the 1TB.

Then

View, mfsinfo

to make sure everything looks okay. There should be about 500GB worth of Apple Free partition on the end.

Shut down, put the 1TB in the TiVo, make sure it works, then hook it back to the PC, open WinMFS, select the 1TB (no need to have the 500 connected at this point), and use

Tools, mfsadd

to expand the 3rd MFS Media partition into where that Apple Free partition is.


Always do the expansion as a separate step, with either WinMFS or the MFS Live cd, because sometimes doing it as part of a restore or copy goes wrong.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 05:10 PM   #3
captainstabbins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 14
Thanks for the help Unitron. I took the 1TB drive out of the tivo and put it in the computer. I then did MFSAdd and it worked perfect and expanded properly. I apprecite the help.

__________________
It's a small world, but I would sure hate to paint it....
captainstabbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.
Page generated in 0.05164289 seconds (70.08% PHP - 29.92% MySQL) with 18 queries